New Lounger
    Thanks

using two select statements in an update query

I'm a newbie to access. Here's what I want to do. I want to update records with an update query equal to the sum of two expressions. The first expression is:
    UPDATE test_table SET test_table.test_rank = -(DCount("*","test_table","test_score >=" & [test_score])); --this runs fine by itself but is not the result I want--
    and add to it something like count(test_score)
    If I could combine this into one statement, it would give me the ranking of a list of values from smallest to largest. I just don't know how to get it into one update query statement. Please help

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by howardj1 View Post
    UPDATE test_table SET test_table.test_rank = -(DCount("*","test_table","test_score >=" & [test_score])); --this runs fine by itself but is not the result I want--
    and add to it something like count(test_score)

You can put a + sign between two expressions, as long as you know what expressions you want to use. Something like

UPDATE test_table SET test_table.test_rank = -(DCount("*","test_table","test_score >=" & [test_score]) + count(test-score));

I don't know what the second expression should be because I don't know what you want to count.

IS that a - sign in there? What is it for?
    Regards
    John

New Lounger
    Thanks
    John,
    I tried what you wrote but get the same error I have been getting "You tried to execute a query that does not include the specified expression '(the entire SQL you provided)' as part of an aggregate function". This does not happen if I replace the { COUNT(test_score) } piece with an integer, such as 11. Therein lies my problem.