Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Question Taskbar Property Not Preserved During Hibernate

    I have a desktop and a laptop computer from different manufacturers, both running Windows 7 64-bit. The monitor sizes are respectively 2048 1152 and 1920 1080. On each, I have the taskbar at the left side, about 300 pixels wide so that I can read the full titles, and on autohide. When either machine hibernates and then is reactivated, the taskbar is only about 30 pixels wide. What causes this problem?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    What happens if you use Task Manager to terminate explorer.exe and then restart it with Task Manager?

    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    My thoughts also. What manufacturer are the video cards in each machine?
    Chuck

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    joeperez and Doc Brown, thank you for smart questions.

    > What happens if you use Task Manager to terminate explorer.exe and then restart it with Task Manager?

    I didn't know one could do that. The taskbar comes back with the width correct, and no other problem either.

    > What manufacturer are the video cards in each machine?

    Interesting possible connection:
    Desktop: ATI Radeon HD 4350
    Laptop: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870

    Thank you for your attention. Even though the problem remains, I have learned from your questions.

    I should have mentioned that I have not locked the taskbar, because I sometimes change the width if I need to read a particularly long title.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    What happens if you lock the taskbar?

    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    With the taskbar "locked", Windows still reduces the width as described.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Are your video drivers up-to-date on both machines?

    Is your BIOS up-to-date on both machines?

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •