Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Annoying problem with right-click menus

    Since installing Win 7 and Office 2010 (32 bit) on my PC (64 bit) and laptop (32 bit), I've experienced a really annoying problem with "right click" menus. For example, if I right click on a document in Word what I call the copy/paste menu appears. Fine so far. However, when I move the pointer pretty onto the menu to select an action, within seconds the menu disappears. This happens even if I have not move the pointer off the menu. Interestingly, when I right click again, everything works as it should. I experience the same "behavior" in Word, Excel, and Outlook. I don't use the other apps very much, but I wouldn't be at all surprised if the same thing happened there. This only seems to happen within my Office apps.

    Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

    Pyramid 36

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chichester, UK
    Posts
    400
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    It should not happen. The menus should stay on display until you select an item or click the mouse somewhere else. This suggests a utility or third party add-in that is interfering with normal operation. You can eliminate third party add-ins by testing Word in Safe Mode.

    From Start Run (Winkey+R), type in

    winword /a

    and press Enter. Test the right-click action now. Does the Context menu close itself now?

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    356
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Have you got Babylon installed? Babylon removes the copy/paste function- just as you describe. You don't need to uninstall Babylon, but do need to disable it as a Word add-in. Perhaps some other software is causing the same problem that Babylon does.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TerFar View Post
    ....You can eliminate third party add-ins by testing Word in Safe Mode...From Start Run...type in winword /a
    Hello, I had a similar annoyance that I've been able to avoid by using Word in Safe Mode as described above, but I'm not clear on where the add-in came from or what I should do next. So assuming that the original poster found the issue was not present in Safe Mode, what is the next step to "eliminate the third party add-ins?"
    Thanks
    -Carmen

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cruelas View Post
    ........
    but I'm not clear on where the add-in came from or what I should do next....... what is the next step to "eliminate the third party add-ins?"
    Thanks
    -Carmen
    Can you see the add-ins by doing.....
    File>Options>Add-Ins

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have Word 2002, so I don't see File>Options>Add-Ins. But I did find "Templates and Add-Ins" under the Tools menu in Word and I don't see anything listed under "Global Templates and Add-Ins...currently loaded"...am I looking in the right place? Does that mean my issue is not with Add-Ins?

    The annoyance I was referring to was that Word takes longer to load on certain XP user accounts, and Paste is disabled on the right click menu immediately after Copying from the web and opening Word.

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cruelas View Post
    I have Word 2002, so I don't see File>Options>Add-Ins. But I did find "Templates and Add-Ins" under the Tools menu in Word and I don't see anything listed under "Global Templates and Add-Ins...currently loaded"...am I looking in the right place? Does that mean my issue is not with Add-Ins?

    The annoyance I was referring to was that Word takes longer to load on certain XP user accounts, and Paste is disabled on the right click menu immediately after Copying from the web and opening Word.
    cruelas - Sorry, Post #1 is using Win 7 and Office 2010. My reply was for that setup with possible Word 2010 Add-Ins..
    Now, I see you have a different setup with XP and Word 2002. Do you have XP Pro SP3?

    If Word is opened before you copy from a web site, does that help?

    Can you give a sample web site and what you want to copy and paste from that web site. I have a computer available with XP Pro SP3 and Word 2003 SP3.

    PS: Does Copy and Paste from web sites work for some of your User accounts and not others? If yes, are there non-Word AddIns being used by the other User accounts?
    Last edited by tfspry; 2011-04-09 at 21:36. Reason: added a PS:

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the responses. Sorry, I didn't mean to stray from the original post; I thought the fix would be the same.

    >>Do you have XP Pro SP3?
    I have XP Home SP3

    >>If Word is opened before you copy from a web site, does that help?
    Yes. I only experience the issue when I open Word directly after copying something--anything, even text from a Word Pad text document offline. And this happens with both user accounts (so we can forget about the slow start-up issue).

    I did some searching and found some info. that might help:
    1. I have this in my Add/Remove Programs: Microsoft Works Suite Add-in for Microsoft Word
    2. This is listed under "COM Add-Ins" in Word:
    "Web Page Wizard" (unchecked)
    "Location: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office 10\WEBPAGE.DLL"
    "Load on Demand"
    3. I also found that someone online recommended searching for .DOT files and renaming them to "find the culprit." I found many such files the in these folders:
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\1033\Wizzards
    C:\Program Files\Mircosoft Office\Templates\1033

    4. And when I look in Word: Help menu>About Microsoft Word>System Info.
    >Applications>Microsoft Word 2002>Summary
    it says "Add-Ins....0"

    So maybe my issue isn't with third-party add-ins after all? What do you think? And by the way (if it isn't obvious), I don't really understand what "third-party add-ins" are and how I would know if I wanted to keep them.

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cruelas View Post
    >>
    .........
    Do you have XP Pro SP3?
    I have XP Home SP3

    >>If Word is opened before you copy from a web site, does that help?
    Yes. I only experience the issue when I open Word directly after copying something--anything, even text from a Word Pad text document offline. And this happens with both user accounts (so we can forget about the slow start-up issue).
    ................
    I did some "copy" testing using Win XP Pro with Word 2000, Word 2003, and Word 2010.
    In all cases, Word must be open or the Paste function is not available. As long as Word is already open then Copy and Paste works fine from other docs, web sites, etc. to an existing Document or a New Document.

    HTH

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to tfspry For This Useful Post:

    cruelas (2011-04-10)

  12. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, the reason I thought there was a problem, was that I AM able to Copy BEFORE I open Word then Paste AFTER I open Word--BUT ONLY WHEN I OPEN Word IN SAFE MODE (Run>winword /a).

    I appreciate your time, and thanks for your help. I'll do some more searching later and decide if it's an annoyance that I can live with . Thanks again.

  13. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cruelas View Post
    Well, the reason I thought there was a problem, was that I AM able to Copy BEFORE I open Word then Paste AFTER I open Word--BUT ONLY WHEN I OPEN Word IN SAFE MODE (Run>winword /a).

    I appreciate your time, and thanks for your help. I'll do some more searching later and decide if it's an annoyance that I can live with . Thanks again.
    BTW Welcome to the Lounge. You'll find lots of useful info here.

  14. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    520
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    I did some "copy" testing using Win XP Pro with Word 2000, Word 2003, and Word 2010.
    In all cases, Word must be open or the Paste function is not available. As long as Word is already open then Copy and Paste works fine from other docs, web sites, etc. to an existing Document or a New Document.

    HTH
    This is strange. I have XP Home, SP3 and Office 2003 Pro, and often copy reviews of plays, art exhibitions, operas, etc from the Daily Telegraph web site and place them in my 'To See' folder, and never open Word in advance.

  15. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm still working on my specific issue (sorry for taking this thread off-topic!), but I found a similar discussion for anyone interested: Thread: "Copy and paste not working on Internet"
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...ng-on-Internet
    Last edited by cruelas; 2011-04-13 at 02:25.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •