Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

A revisit: Unable to delete/take ownership of registry keys

Really need some help with this.
    Running Win7 Enterprise
    There are currently 11 reg keys that I know of that I cannot take ownership of or delete. 9 are magicjack keys and 2 are erroneous file types (jv16 power tools).
    What really concerns me is that I'm logged in as admin but do not have complete control of my computer. I was a computer analyst for over 15 yrs. and was always able to solve problems like this. Win7 has me stumped.
    How can software lock reg keys to the point that an admin cannot delete them?
    TIA

2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

+ Get this BONUS — free!

Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

Thanks
    Try this command line tool from Mark Russinovich;

RegDelNull v1.1
    Introduction
    This command-line utility searches for and allows you to delete Registry keys that contain embedded-null characters and that are otherwise undeleteable using standard Registry-editing tools. Note: deleting Registry keys may cause the applications they are associated with to fail.
    or

PCRegedit
    What can PCRegedit do?
    PCRegedit is a Linux Live CD based, easy-to-use tool to create, delete, edit the windows registry key-values without booting from Windows. You can use it to fix Windows Registry key-values when it is maliciously altered by virus or when you are going to edit key-values pertaining to Windows Kernel settings. Or else, you can also optimize, clean up your Windows registry manually.