1. Star Lounger
    Thanks

W7 Taskbar Keeps Disappearing

New Dell laptop, Windows 7 Home, 64 bit. Taskbar keeps disappearing. I'm not a newbie and have checked all the usual suspects: it's not on autohide, the right boxes are checked, etc. The only way I've found to get it back it to reboot.

Thoughts?

Thx.

2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

+ Get this BONUS — free!

Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

3. 2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    You say it disappears? Is there a line and it is blank below that line where the Taskbar should be? If that is the problem then click on the line. On my computer a line with a pointer top and bottom appears which should stretch the Taskbar. It may reactivate instead.

4. Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I click as far down on the desktop as I can to where the taskbar should be, and I get the menu that appears when you click anywhere on the desktop. The laptop is at home and I'll look again, but I couldn't see any line or anything else that was where the taskbar was supposed to be. It's the oddest thing. And my wife (who owns the laptop) doesn't know what she does to make it vanish, and I sure don't.

5. 2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Google for Taskbar activate. Even though it says not for Windows 7 give it a try. I am using it on Windows 7.

6. Administrator
    Thanks
    Is the BIOS up-to-date? Are the video drivers up-to-date?

Also, see Taskbar disappearing tips.

Joe

7. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

Davidhs (2011-04-09)

8. Star Lounger
    Thanks