New Lounger
    Thanks

Word 2010 templates and No Spacing style

Geof and Andrew answered a Word template question last week. I hope they're still reading.

Users here (I am a contract technical writer) "do not use" Word templates. They are not interested in manually associating templates to Word documents.

They do want to review and markup a Word document on the screen so a .pdf is out.

Is there any way to make template.dotx "ride along with" document.docx so the user doesn't have to access the template on a network shared drive?

Currently, the "paragraph style" for all raw documents is "No Spacing." I just upgraded from Office 2003 to Office 2010 and can't find any information on No Spacing in the Word help or at microsoft.com.

I guess that's my second question: what is the purpose of the No Spacing style? In researching help sites, I see a number of users asking how to make Word default to No Spacing instead of Normal. What is the attraction?

-- Suzanne

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Template Style 'No Spacing'

Hi Sooze
    The sample text I used is based on a template which is not associated with my regular 'Normal.dotx' IT is a generic raw Word created template.

The difference is in the line spacing

The following image is an extract showing successive paragraphs formatted with styles Normal and No Spacing.

The normal style has a line spacing of 1.1 with 8 pt of space after the paragraph.

The No Spacing style has single line spacing with no spacing after the paragraph.

What is the purpose of No Spacing
    I believe it is just for compatibility with legacy docs? User preference maybe ??

I think that Microsoft made the changes in the belief that the combination, line spacing of 1.1(5) and space after, aid readability. On top of that some new fonts may be easier to read with multiLine space

Check out this url at M/soft http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/wo...010231027.aspx

Note you can revert to an office 2003 style set.

Styles travel with documents