Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Routers

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Routers

    For a few years, my Netgear router DG834G ran trouble free 24/7. Unfortunately it died and was replaced a few months ago with another Netgear router DGN2000. Occassionally over the past week or so, it drops connection, resulting in the need for me to switch it off, wait 1 minute, switch it on and normal service is resumed.
    My local telephone exchange is just under 5 miles from home and is not yet converted to digital, so my download speed is on average 1.5mb.
    Do you have this problem when running 24/7 with yours.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I just replaced my Linksys Wrt610 (I believe) with a new Linksys E4200. Love the new router No dropped connections so far (only on a few days) Connects nicely with stronger signal than old router, all PC's were online in minutes. Very Nice!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Ted, thanks, yours must be predesigned for USA as its not available here in UK
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Found my new router on eBay. $177.50 USD with shipping after I won auction. Available on Amazon for $179.99 USD and directly from Linksys for $179.99 USD.

    Mine is installed near my modem which is on the opposite end of my house on the second floor. My wife and I sit in our living/TV room on the first floor and connect with surprising fast speeds to our cable modem and ISP.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,207
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Does your router drop the ADSL connection? Maybe you have a bad connection, or something has been chewing the phone cable?
    Check the speed of the link, not the download speed, on the router. You should have a connection speed above 2Mb/s, depending on the exchange equipment.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Paul, I had an engineer to check my equipment 2 weeks ago, it was ok. Must be BT (British Telecom) upgrading to digital.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    The best thing I can suggest,would be to update your firmware.If you haven't already.I have the Netgear model#WNR200V2.Since i updated the firmware to the latest I haven't had any trouble @ all.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •