Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Watford UK
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    administrator doesn't have administrator rights!

    Network consists of server (running SBS 2003) and 5 workstations (running XP SP3). All users are administrators.

    We are trying to load a stand-alone payroll package onto one of the workstations. It keeps saying the user does not have administrator rights. Even the network administrator does not have administrator rights!!

    Has anyone got any ideas of how to get out of this?

    David

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    have you checked the local groups to see what accounts are in the administrator group?

    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Watford UK
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yep, and they are all there

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Is the PC a member of the domain? If so, and the users with admin rights are logging in with a domain account (domain_name\user_name) then try removing the PC from the domain and re-adding. Its not uncommon for the domain association to break and prevent normal administrative tasks from being done.
    Chuck

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Watford UK
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks, but I managed to load the program. I did by by using safe mode. I have no idea why that worked but it did and everyone is happy.

    The strange thing is I could load and run other Programs. I just think the this program is just somehow super sensitive.

    Thanks anyway

    David

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    I have all but eliminated those annoying messages that I don't have the permission to do something on my own XP PC.
    I've installed the "Take Ownership" script, used on Vista and Win-7 and it works pretty well to give me all the rights I need to delete or rename a file.

    Just a thought.........

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •