Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Overland Park, KS USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Interaction with Desktop

    In Win 7 how do I move the highlight from one desktop icon to another?


    In previous versions of Windows, I simply use the arrow keys to move the highlight from one icon to another; I miss that capability.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have my PC set to Single Click, so when I hover my cursor over an icon it becomes the highlighted icon on the desktop. Control Panel, Folder Options:

    SingleClick.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    When I select a icon on the desktop I can navigate to others using the arrow keys.

    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Overland Park, KS USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeperez View Post
    When I select a icon on the desktop I can navigate to others using the arrow keys.

    Joe
    I believe you, Joe. Does anyone have an idea as to why I cannot? Are there others in the same boat with me?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Overland Park, KS USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I, too, have my interface set to single-click. But this does not allow me to navigate the desktop using the arrow keys. ?????

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    When you have the single click setting enabled even though the description says "point to select" the selection is not the same as a single click selection when the double click setting is enabled. From what I can find out you have no way of selecting an icon as you do when double click is active. Therefore, you have no basis for navigation via the arrow keys.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    I have single click and after I highlight any icon, I can then navigate from there by using the arrows to any other desktop icon.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If you have single click turned on then clicking on an icon will open the program not select it. Hovering on item selects it but as soon as you move the pointer off the item it is deselected.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •