Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Multiple instances of IE

    Hello. Here's a good one for you all. I just noticed yesterday that when I open just one session of IE8 there's always a second process that runs with it in task manager and it around 15meg and doesn't change much. The other process is more inline with what a normal browser would use but starts using much more memory soon after opening. NOW, I used Chrome and the SAME thing happens! (except in Chrome) I ran a malware and virus scan and everything is clean, but I'm think the last updates I installed may have had something to do with this? Any suggestions would be appreciated. I checked my hosts file and nothing unusual.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    For both browsers that is what is called process isolation. Each tab gets its own process so that if something goes wrong with an addon or page it can be closed without corrupting the other tabs or crashing the whole browsing session.

    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    Gomek (2011-04-06)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I agree, each new browser window opened, creates it's own separate process.

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello, and thanks for the reply. Just to clarify, when this occurs, no tabs or any other IE sessions are running. As mentioned, Chrome does the same thing. There's a ghost process that's not at all related to anything running that concerns me. And each time, the ghost process if I can refer to it as such, takes up about 15M of memory.

    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    I agree, each new browser window opened, creates it's own separate process.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    1 Run an thorough AV/AM scan to check for adware or spyware with all other applications closed.
    2 Reset/ and restore IE to it's default settings in the (tools, internet options' advanced) settings area & restart IE.
    3 Remove any IE8 add-ons an, restart IE and attempt to observe if bahavior persists.

    On a related note...
    The process "explorer.exe" & iexplorer.exe are two different applications, Windows explorer will always be present in taskmanager with at least one instant present at all times.


    Windows 7 - Desktop Icons not working
    The Case of the Slooooow System

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    Gomek (2011-04-06)

  8. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    When you start IE or Chrome there is a "host" process which controls the overall execution of the broswer. Then each tab (and you get one tab when you open the browser) gets its own process. So, just opening the browser means you'll have two processes running.

    Joe

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    Gomek (2011-04-06)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •