Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts

    Firefox-6-0-and-Firefox-7-0

    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    This is crazy. Or maybe not, if it's really Firefox 4.5 and Firefox 4.75, i.e., fairly minor changes.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    What happened to 5? Is that 4 that actually works?

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    I also read FF 4.2 is due soon.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    I also read FF 4.2 is due soon.
    FF 4.2 never actually happened. best for you to read the mozillaWiki releases page on the "tentative" release dates for Firefox 6.0 & 7.0.
    https://wiki.mozilla.org/Releases

    And the mozillawiki RapidRelease Calendar page:
    https://wiki.mozilla.org/RapidRelease/Calendar

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 59 Times in 59 Posts
    Crazy, they are just concerned about version numbers and trying to catch up with IE9 (version number that is!)

    If they keep it up we will probably be looking at FF v18 when Windows 8 is released...

    EDIT: For clarity, I am a FF5 user and find all these major updates confusing to say the least.
    Last edited by Browni; 2011-07-11 at 20:56.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 933 Times in 853 Posts
    FF is fast becoming the new Chrome with updates!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,240
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 166 Times in 129 Posts
    Are they just driving us crazy, with cosmetics or are they really improving the product?

    Like the soap that says "New and Improved" but the only thing that's really new is the box. (Oh crap!)

    FF really ticked me off when they took the tool bar icons and spread them out across the screen.
    I found a neat way to put them back together on the left side of the screen like they used to be. cheeech!

    I've turned off automatic updates so they don't mess me up again. I'll wait to see what others say about a
    particular update before I decide to try it.

    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,482
    Thanks
    211
    Thanked 849 Times in 781 Posts
    Dr. W,

    I took your prescription...take 2 clicks {turn off auto updates} and call me when things settle down...good advice!
    [Rant On]In theory auto updating is a great idea...in practice not so hot![Rant Off]
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    I always let FF check for updates till this happened:- Read it Here.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Why would that make you turn off 'Auto Check'?
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Remember to check for security updates manually. If you care about security.

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I just updated from 3.6.?? to 5.0.1 and it still has the same problem 4 did, will not work with a secure site that uses Citrix. I can get into the site and see all the tool icons, but instead of launching the tool, FF5 opens a new tab and tries to download the icon target. Stupid.

    At least most of my addons now work vs hardly anything in 4.

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pjkarl View Post

    At least most of my addons now work vs hardly anything in 4.
    pjkarl,

    Hello... I had the same ... But for now everything works with 4.0.1 4.0.1 Firefox you can give it a try , and always revert back if you have problems. Regards Fred

    PS: I know it's not the most "secure" but i trust Malwarebytes (PRO) and Norton Internet Security 2011
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-07-15 at 19:34.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pjkarl View Post
    I just updated from 3.6.?? to 5.0.1 and it still has the same problem 4 did, will not work with a secure site that uses Citrix.
    If that is the only site for which you need Firefox 3.6, you could use the portable version: http://portableapps.com/apps/interne...ation#legacy36

    Note: I assumed you run Windows. Not sure how best to get portable Firefox for other operating systems.
    Last edited by jscher2000; 2011-07-16 at 18:16. Reason: Note

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •