Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Startup Options Lost (Access 97)

    I have a front-end to a database that has had some persistent problems with our network. The one that cropped up today is that the startup options reset to defaults. Even opening the database in exclusive mode, when I re-do all the options there, or any of them, and hit OK, they reset. I can close the database or not, but when I go to startup options, they are all back to default. The only code aside from command button code is the IsLoaded module from Northwind. I can't see any other reason for this occurring. The same phenomenon happens with 2 other machines, so it doesn't appear to be my installation of Access as the culprit either. Please Help! Anyone seen anything like this before?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup Options Lost (Access 97)

    Do you get errors when you compact? It sounds very much like you have a corrupted database - I've had similar problems several times. Use JetComp to compact the database into a new database, ignore any errors JetComp gives you related to not having permission to access particular records (sorry - I don't have the exact message written down), and then see if your startup options will "stick" in the copy.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup Options Lost (Access 97)

    Thanks, that seems to have worked. I don't know why. What types of things could occur on an NT network to cause frequent corruptions. This file is in a folder with another 97 mdb (the back-end) and a 2000 mdb (alternate front-end), and neither of those has had any problems, but this one has had frequent problems.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Startup Options Lost (Access 97)

    Traffic can be an issue, but one of the common culprits in all versions of Access is memo fields. The more memo fields you have in your database, the more likely you are to face corruption issues. If it's the front end that's corrupting, it can happen when you get a lot of design changes being made, or even when you have an abnormal exit on one machine while other users are connected. It's always a mystery as to exactly what causes corruption. I've seen a database show all kinds of weird behavior, including corruption, apparently as the result of a single line of code that was syntactically correct, compiled and threw no errors but caused GPFs all over the place, leading to frequent corruption. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup Options Lost (Access 97)

    It's happened again. This time the startup options are all gone. Several of the users got the message "The Microsoft Jet database engine stopped the process because you and another user are attempting to change the same data at the same time." Also, there was a table added called MSysCompactError, which has two records, the first has an error code field with '-1611' and a description identical to the users' message. The second record in this table (it's a front end, so all other data is in the other database) says that "The Microsoft Jet database engine could not find the object 'MSysCompactError'. Make sure the object exists and that you spell its name and the path name correctly." with the same code. Seems odd in that the error created refers to the table it is in itself as not existing. There is no automatic compacting turned on, and had not compacted it for a few days prior to this message appearing. Sure enough, the startup options have disappeared, and the users are faced with the database window (which should be hidden) rather than the startup form, etc.
    The backend is on the same server and same folder on the network, could server-level problems cause problems like this with a database with linked tables?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Startup Options Lost (Access 97)

    It sounds like you probably need to create a new empty database and then import all of the objects from your front-end database. That presumes that it is really the corrupt database. It is possible that it is the backend. To determine that, open the backend directly and see if you get corruption messages. (It would be a real good idea to make backup copies of both databases before you start tinkering.)

    As to corruption causes, the most common one we see is where a workstation crashes when it is trying to update a record, expecially if that record contains memo fields. In the front-end database, lots of objects (forms, queries, etc.) get stored in pages that look an awful lot like memo fields. Server level or network problems can cause corruption as well. Even if you convert your back-end to SQL Server, you still can have problems, so the best answer is to backup regularly and frequently. Other measures you can take are creating an MDE version of your front-end, and IF all your tables are in the backend (Switchboard Items cannot be for some reason), then consider making your front-end database Read Only at the OS level. We use that trick in Access 2K to stop some of the bloat problems associated with Add-Ins that we use. Hope this is of value in solving your problem.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup Options Lost (Access 97)

    We've done the new database and re-import thing a few times now. No corruption on the backend, the main reporting that is generated is done by one person in the backend each day, and there's never been a problem on that side of things. No memo fields anywhere in it all. No switchboard in the front end, using custom forms. No workstation crashes as far as I've been able to determine.
    I suspect the network type problems. What are some likely causes at that level? We've seen some network issues (NT) with ownership and permissions of files shifting around, but we can't lock down the problem enough to get the network guys to see it or resolve it. Could this be related? Are there things on the network that can cause problems specifically with linked tables?
    Does anyone know what the -1611 error code refers to? I couldn't find it in the knowledgebase or in searching Woody's.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •