Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    A minor inconvenience

    When I right-click on the desktop and select Personalize, nothing happens. I can go to control panel and select Personalization and it works fine. It's been doing this for a long time.
    Also, the windows key + Pause/Break hotkey stopped working.
    Last edited by sanyama; 2011-04-11 at 13:21.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you tried running SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated command prompt?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Joe. No I haven't. Wouldn't I have to reinstall all ms updates again? Don't think I want to do that. Actually running now with /verifyonly switch. We'll see what happens.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    No, you should not have to reinstall updates.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Scan completed, but I couldn't make hide noe hair of the results. Any tips on that?

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Don't know what you are seeing. The results are usually pretty straight forward. Can you post a screenshot?

    Joe

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    SFClog.jpg
    Here ya go.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    You're not running Win 7 Starter Edition on a netbook, are you??

    Zig

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Win7 Enterprise on a desktop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •