New Lounger
    Thanks

Adventures in PowerLine Networking

Hi all,

I just thought I'd pass along an interesting occurrence I just had with a PLN setup. Generally, I like them. They can be a great, easy way to get a connection to a device where the wireless signal is weak.

To keep this as short as possible, I’ve been a computer hobbyist for over 25 years. I, like I’m sure many of my fellow Windows Secrets readers, often perform the task of a “Friends and Family IT Department”.

Here’s the basic computer network setup for the story. There’s a new Linksys “N” router downstairs in this two-story house to which a laptop connects wirelessly and an Internet-Ready Blu-Ray player is wired. The “base” unit for the PowerLine Network setup is also “wired” to the router. The desktop computer is upstairs and is connected to the router through the “receiving adapter” end of the PowerLine connection. PLN adapters are generally sold in pairs.

The desktop (upstairs; too far for a decent wireless connection) was experiencing a very slow internet connection. Downstairs, and when connected directly to the router, it typically connected at 20Mbps. Upstairs, it suddenly dropped to about 1.5Mbps. Bringing up the network map showed . . . well . . . some other people’s computers! When I tried opening the router’s webpage-based setup, it was asking for a username and password for the neighbor’s router. Somehow, the PowerLine adapter was connecting to the next door neighbors PowerLine setup. It should be noted that these houses are “stand alone” buildings and not a duplex, townhouse, condo or apartments.

I called in an “expert” to have a look and he was stumped. He had never seen anything like this(remembering that this is a wired connection). The same goes for the person HE had to call to get a second opinion.

So, if any of you decide to use a PLN setup, be sure that you are actually connecting to the right network.

Lounger
    Thanks