Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    "Proper" URL for addon domain

    I have an addon domain and when I go to it, I would like to hide the main domain in the address bar. For example, the main domain is main.co.uk; the addon domain is addon.co.uk; when I go to addon.co.uk, the address bar shows main.co.uk/addon.co.uk.

    Is it possible to remove the main.co.uk via .htaccess? (I am sure I managed to do this in the past, but have just wasted a few hours unsuccessfully!).

    Many thanks for any help

    Neil

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    It sounds as though addon.co.uk is redirecting to a folder on main.co.uk. Instead, that folder should be the root of addon.co.uk. It seems most efficient to do this in your domains control panel, but you might be able to use url rewriting in .htaccess.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In Cpanel, addon.co.uk is the root, redirected to main.co.uk/addon.co.uk. Are you saying that the re-direct is not necessary?

    Neil

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by njw View Post
    In Cpanel, addon.co.uk is the root, redirected to main.co.uk/addon.co.uk. Are you saying that the re-direct is not necessary?
    Correct. No redirect should be needed.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Many thanks. I will discuss with my ISP who is doing the redirecting.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Who is providing your web server? The web server is required to provide the addon.co.uk site and name it correctly.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •