Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Upgrade Laptop HD

    My Compaq CQ62 came with a 320 gig HD.

    I want to install a larger drive.

    HP support indicated that this is not possible.

    Two questions. Is there a way to determine the veracity of their claim
    without obtaining and installing a larger drive to see what happens? Is
    there a way to defeat this limitation if there are obstacles to upgrading?

    Though their failure to offer me the opportunity to buy a larger drive from
    them speaks to the truth of their statement, I do not consider that
    dispositive.

    Thoughts? Suggestions?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    It could be a BIOS issue. Do you have any system documentation?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Have you asked them the reason why an upgrade in HDD size is not possible?
    I would not take it at face value without a valid reason. Press them on this.
    (The reason could have more to do with the inconvenience of them having to offering os reinstall support)

    Compaq Presario CQ62 Notebook PC and HP G62 Notebook PC
    Maintenance and Service Guide


    How to disassemble HP G62 or Compaq Presario CQ62 laptop
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2011-04-13 at 21:52.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    We don't know your full model number, but it looks like Drive Solutions offers larger drives for all model levels of the CQ62.
    http://www.drivesolutions.com/cgi/sh...resario%20CQ62

    Drive Solutions is usually pretty good about only offering drives that are compatible for your model. And it jives with the info that CLiNT posted.
    Chuck

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
    It could be BIOS problem that cannot see the complete drive over 270G, for example. Both Seagate and WD provide methods to break the size limit. If you have to use a larger drive, follow their methods to pre-format the drive first. Make sure to partition the drive (to 2 two partitions, for example) so as to below the BIOS size limit (in case you need to access them via BIOS).
    If you use XP and above, Windows takes over from BIOS when accessing drives, and the BIOS limit will no longer be there. It is when Windows does not boot and you want to go to Linux CD boot, or boot to DOS, then the BIOS limit maybe a problem on hard drive access.

    Having said all that, I recommend NOT to go bigger drive. It is safer that way. Besides, you can always use external USB drive, USB flash drive, SD card, etc. You really do not need an internal drive bigger than 100G, IMHO.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •