Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 7 Get Shutdown When I Request Sleep!

    I just updated my Windows Vista Ultra 32 bit system to Windows 7 Ultra 64 bit. It was a clean install with all the patches. So far things have been working well except when I request Sleep, the system shuts down! It will also shutdown with inactivity. Previously using Vista, Sleep worked well.

    Any ideas on how to resolve this problem?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by telasher146 View Post
    I just updated my Windows Vista Ultra 32 bit system to Windows 7 Ultra 64 bit. It was a clean install with all the patches. So far things have been working well except when I request Sleep, the system shuts down! It will also shutdown with inactivity. Previously using Vista, Sleep worked well.

    Any ideas on how to resolve this problem?
    telasher,
    Hello... Go to Control Panel>All Control Panel Items (view large icons drop down)>Power Options>Change Plan Settings>click on change Advanced power settings> Click Change settings that are currently unavailable> check power buttons and sleep button (click drop down)....might be set wrong . Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-04-18 at 14:07.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    telasher146 (2011-04-18)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Fred,

    Thanks for a quick reply. The setting for the sleep button is already "Sleep". This system's primary usage is as a media center recording TV shows, etc. So I really need it to sleep. Any other ideas?

    I am quite sure I did the install fine. I have done many OS installs over the years and I do not remember any issues during the install.

    Tom

  5. #4
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,655
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by telasher146 View Post
    I just updated my Windows Vista Ultra 32 bit system to Windows 7 Ultra 64 bit. It was a clean install with all the patches. So far things have been working well except when I request Sleep, the system shuts down! It will also shutdown with inactivity. Previously using Vista, Sleep worked well.

    Any ideas on how to resolve this problem?
    How exactly are you requesting or invoking the Sleep command?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Deadeye81 For This Useful Post:

    telasher146 (2011-04-18)

  7. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    telasher,
    Hello...What does the "Power Button Action" have to say?
    Regards Fred
    PS: There is the other "sleep" setting also, after so many minutes...
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-04-18 at 16:24.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Deadeye81, I am using the Start>Sleep on the main screen! At first it was shutting down when it should have slept even though I went through all the power options I know. So then I tried the direct approach, request that the system go to sleep!
    Last edited by telasher146; 2011-04-18 at 20:03.

  9. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    telasher,
    Hello...What does the "Power Button Action" have to say?
    Regards Fred
    PS: There is the other "sleep" setting also, after so many minutes...
    Fred, I am sorry but I am not sure what you are asking but I will try.
    The power button on the computer does a system shutdown.
    If I go to to Start>Sleep on the main screen, it shuts down too.

    Thanks

  10. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by telasher146 View Post
    Fred, I am sorry but I am not sure what you are asking but I will try.
    The power button on the computer does a system shutdown.
    If I go to to Start>Sleep on the main screen, it shuts down too.
    telasher,
    Hello...Sorry , I was talking about the additional "power and sleep" settings that are available on that screen.Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    I placed a shortcut to sleep on my desktop. Windows Seven Forums show several methods to do this.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #10
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,655
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
    telasher146,

    Ted's shortcut should provide you with some relief from your current frustration, but something is not working correctly, and in time, there may be other issues that reveal themselves as well.

    Some possibilities to consider:

    Have you run any antivirus/antimalware scans to rule out infection on your system? There are also several online scanners that can be helpful. Just google online malware scanners for links.

    Have you checked to verify your motherboard is fully Windows 7 compatible? Even though it is fully Vista compatible does not mean it is Windows 7 compatible. When I upgraded from Vista via a clean or custom install, I did so knowing that Intel would not support my motherboard for running Windows 7. I had a few issues at first, but I found that Intel did release a Windows 7 compatible Chipset Device Driver and downloaded/installed it as well as the latest BIOS update. Those made the majority of the issues I had go away. Check your motherboard manufacturer's support site for these as well as any other relevant Windows 7 drivers. Avoid any hardware drivers that come through Microsoft. Update all drivers through the hardware manufacturer's support site, or if your machine is a laptop, go through the laptop manufacturer's support site.

    Verify that you have the latest Windows 7 compatible ACPI drivers installed.

    If you have already done the above, and still have no resolution, you can run the System File Checker utility to verify the integrity of your Windows 7 system files. It will check and replace any that are corrupt or missing. Use the Windows Recovery Environment as shown in the following tutorial - type the following command in the Command Prompt to scan your Windows partition: 'sfc /scannow' do not include the quote marks, and be sure to leave a space after 'sfc' and '/'. Here is another great tutorial from SevenForums.

    You can also start the Recovery Environment by pressing F8 repeatedly when booting your machine.
    Last edited by Deadeye81; 2011-04-19 at 09:00. Reason: spelling correction, additional info

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Deadeye81 For This Useful Post:

    telasher146 (2011-04-19)

  14. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone for your comments.

    Here is some more detail in-case it gives someone an idea of what is going on. I think the system went to sleep by itself just after I installed the system and before updates. I was not really paying attention to that detail so I can not say for sure if that was the case. I then installed the something like 150 updates / patches. This system is primarily a Media Center so it is important that it goes to sleep and wakes up when needed to record a TV show, etc. So sometime after I was done with the updates I noticed that it was not sleeping, it was shutdown. After restarting, I went to the Start button on the lower left part od the screen and selected "Sleep". The system shutdown. I have since been playing with several options in the Power options. No improvement so far. My current plan is to do another clean install this coming weekend if I can find the time but check the sleep function before adding patches and after every 10 or so patches. I just have no clue what the problem could be.

    As I said before, this computer had been running with sleep function working great using Windows Vista Ultra 32 bit. This new system is Windows 7 Ultra 64 bit.

    Again, thanks for your tips. I really do not want to do a reinstall but right now I have no other ideas.

    Tom

  15. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Deadeye81 View Post
    telasher146,

    Ted's shortcut should provide you with some relief from your current frustration, but something is not working correctly, and in time, there may be other issues that reveal themselves as well.

    Some possibilities to consider:

    Have you run any antivirus/antimalware scans to rule out infection on your system? There are also several online scanners that can be helpful. Just google online malware scanners for links.

    Have you checked to verify your motherboard is fully Windows 7 compatible? Even though it is fully Vista compatible does not mean it is Windows 7 compatible. When I upgraded from Vista via a clean or custom install, I did so knowing that Intel would not support my motherboard for running Windows 7. I had a few issues at first, but I found that Intel did release a Windows 7 compatible Chipset Device Driver and downloaded/installed it as well as the latest BIOS update. Those made the majority of the issues I had go away. Check your motherboard manufacturer's support site for these as well as any other relevant Windows 7 drivers. Avoid any hardware drivers that come through Microsoft. Update all drivers through the hardware manufacturer's support site, or if your machine is a laptop, go through the laptop manufacturer's support site.

    Verify that you have the latest Windows 7 compatible ACPI drivers installed.

    If you have already done the above, and still have no resolution, you can run the System File Checker utility to verify the integrity of your Windows 7 system files. It will check and replace any that are corrupt or missing. Use the Windows Recovery Environment as shown in the following tutorial - type the following command in the Command Prompt to scan your Windows partition: 'sfc /scannow' do not include the quote marks, and be sure to leave a space after 'sfc' and '/'. Here is another great tutorial from SevenForums.

    You can also start the Recovery Environment by pressing F8 repeatedly when booting your machine.
    Thanks Deadeye81. I'll do the research soon.

  16. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My motherboard is an Intel D975XBX2. Intel does not support Windows 7 for that board. However I ran the Intel Driver Update Utility. There were 2 updates which I downloaded and installed. Sleep still does not work. It still shuts down.

    I checked the Microsoft compatibility web site for Windows 7 64 bit. They say it is compatible.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/windows-7/en-us/Details.aspx?type=Hardware&p=Intel%20Desktop%20Boa rd%20D975XBX2%20Motherboard&v=Intel&uid=KD975XBX2K RPAK10&pf=0π=0&s=D975XBX2&os=32-bit

    When I have time, I'll reinstall step by step and check to see if the "out of the box"
    Windows 7 sleeps.

    I'll also run the file checker soon.

    Thanks for the ideas so far.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •