Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 51
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win7 x64 now won't wake from S3 sleep

    New issue - waking had worked fine since installing Windows 7 Professional x64, and i have no idea what has changed, but now when i press the computer's on button to wake the machine (or when i wiggle the mose, or whatever) the fans come up, but the screen stays black.

    i am forced to shut it down by holding down the computer power on key. when i press it again to re-start, i usually get a "Resuming Windows" messsage instead of a simple start-up message.

    i would love to get the sleep function to work properly again. research on MS and the web haven't gotten me anywhere. any ideas out there?

    many thanks for your time and any help ...

    Michael

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Do you have SP1 installed?

    Have you check for a BIOS update?

    See if Troubleshooting Windows 7 sleep problems helps.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks for the thoughts.
    yes, SP1 is installed.
    and i have the latest bios from ASUS for my M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

    the most useful line from the link, unfortunately, was this one ...
    "If you have that feeling of going around in circles - stop; call for Windows 7's wonderful help. "

    maybe that's what i need to do ... but before that, i welcome any further thoughts or questions/suggestions from you or any boaard member.

    thanks in advance.

    Michael

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Have you checked how the power button is configured?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    power button is configured to shut off when pressed. options are do nothing, sleep, hibernate, or shut down.
    sleep button is configured to sleep when pressed.

    thanks, Joe

    Michael

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    596
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 61 Times in 60 Posts
    In the past, I was able to cure this problem by changing the monitor connection from DVI to AGP; no one has been able to explain to me why this worked. It's quick, completely reversible, & worth a try.

    Zig

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Zig For This Useful Post:

    bigpygme (2011-05-05)

  8. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    very interesting, Zig - just one of those odd things that keeps our attention.

    i have an HDMI connection, though, so i'm not sure where to go with the idea.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,527
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 500 Times in 460 Posts
    Reset all your power scheme configurations to default and then set them up again to your preference.
    It may have been an MS update that whent awry or some other software/driver related glitch.

    powercfg -restoredefaultschemes
    Copy and past the above in an elevated command prompt.

    It would also be a good idea to check through the event viewer to see if this issue has been tagged with an error message.
    It would also be a good idea to check through the device manager to ensure a driver, specifically video, has not been corrupted or damaged.
    (red x, or a yellow exclamation point)

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    bigpygme (2011-04-23)

  11. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks, Clint ...
    restored power defaults, we'll see, i will post.
    nothing/ no prob's in device manager.

    i've never really been sure how to use event viewer. i can open it, but what then?
    i can see that in the last 24 hours, there have been:
    36 VBRuntime errors
    16 Kernel Event Tracing errors
    8 Kernel event - general errors
    20 PNRP Svc errors
    74 Service COntrol Manager errors

    so, then what ? <S>

    Michael
    Last edited by bigpygme; 2011-04-23 at 19:47.

  12. #10
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,527
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 500 Times in 460 Posts
    Higher priority errors will be located in the admin section. You can also look through the "system" section and the "hardware" sections.
    Locating specific error messages can also be traced by date/time of occurrence.

    How To Use the Event Viewer Applet
    How to Use the Windows Event Viewer

  13. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    so, no advice on how to explore what these event vwr errors mean? rats ...

    re-setting the power scheme configuration to default didn't work - still won't wake from sleep, needs a re-boot which brings up windows resume.

    any other ideas?

    Michael

  14. #12
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,527
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 500 Times in 460 Posts

  15. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bigpygme View Post
    so, no advice on how to explore what these event vwr errors mean? rats ...
    You need to look at the details of the event in the event viewer. Sometimes there is enough information to figure things out there. Often though, you need to search for the eventid at a place such as http://www.eventid.net/. Searching the Microsoft Technet site can be useful too.

    Figuring out event entries can be tedious and time consuming.

    Joe

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    bigpygme (2011-04-25)

  17. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks, Joe.
    i listed several categories of event errors, about 150 errors, in an entry above.
    where do i look for the right, meaningful entries on eventvwr ?

  18. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,655
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts
    Based on the problem you are experiencing, I'd ignore the VB related events and start looking at the others. I'd start with the Kernel related problems first.

    Joe

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •