Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Copying a profile

    Is there a feature (NOT a bug) that will allow me to copy the information for one user's setup on a WIN2000 Pro computer, for multiple users on the same computer?

    It's a hassle setting up each individual user!
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2><big><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=blue>C</big>HRIS</font color=blue></font face=comic></big>
    Christopher Baldrey

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Ontario, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    Are you operating in a Domain environment?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    Yes, these computers are in a Domain environment, which is a NT 4 SP 6, possibly SP 6a network.

    Also, these computers are mobile, so that my throw another bone in the soup....
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Ontario, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    Providing that you have Administrative rights, you must create a template profile. Create a User Group on the Domain Controller and assign it all the rights and priveleges that you wish to give to the users. Then create a user and call it UserTemplate and assign it to the User Group you just created. It will then inherit all the rights that the group has. Next time you need to add a new user, copy and paste the UserTemplate and rename it to whatever you wish. No muss, no fuss.

    It must be done on the Domain Controller of the Domain. The Group that you create must have the "Log on Locally" right assigned to it for the mobile computers.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    Okay...I goofed[img]/w3timages/icons/doh.gif[/img]. I didn't make myself clear enough in the original post.

    What've you've given me jsweet is great... but I knew that part already, and wasn't looking for that information.

    What I meant to ask for was how can I tell Win2000Pro that users X,Y, and Z all have the same desktop, internet settings, etc...

    Sorry about the confusion!
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Ontario, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    Ok.. Not a problem. Are you familiar with Windows Policies? This is a very touchie snap-in for Windows 2000. If you are not careful you can easily secure yourself from accessing vital areas of the OS. You can assign policies in two ways. Via the Domain Controller or locally. I would suggest that you do it based on which OS you are most familiar with. When you mess with policies, you are messing with the registry, and you shouldn't do that unless you are comfortable with it. In order to do it locally, you need to add a snap-in for Group Policies. I suggest that you do it via the server and then you use poledit.exe. That way whenever the user logs on, their policy follows them wherever they log on.

    Are you the network Administrator for your company?

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    No... I'm just the low "techie guy". The admins don't like to help us out all that much!

    By the sounds of things, since I'm not familar with either OS all that much (I support Win98), I'll just go about the old way of doing each user individually.

    Thanks for your help though!
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Ontario, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    Perhaps, that's for the best. I'm familiar with policies, but given the option I tend to try and find alternatives. I locked myself out of my own Domain Controller once. Whoops.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying a profile

    That's what you would call... a <small>tiny</small> mistake... on a <big><big>grand</big></big> scale![img]/w3timages/icons/laugh.gif[/img][img]/w3timages/icons/laugh.gif[/img]
    Christopher Baldrey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •