Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24
  1. #16
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    Whenever I open a PDF file in IE 9, I get a prompt as to whether I *really* want to open it.

    Is there a way to turn the prompt off and just have it open PDF files?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    I have an equal problem. When I want to read a pdf-file with Foxit Reader 5 IE9 asks if I want to only open it (without saving) to save or to save as. Since it is an IE9-option, it seems te be removed via IE9, but I can find nu possibility to skip this window.

    Best regards,
    Victor Quint

  2. #17
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Victor, Welcome to the Lounge. It's always nice to see new members.

    I believe the increased warnings in IE 9 are there because IE 9 is more security than previous versions. These are file types that have been known to be malicious.

    This seems to be a duplicate of another thread that actually had an answer. Chuck, did that fix your problem?
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-10-10 at 05:34.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Victor, Welcome to the Lounge. It's always nice to see new members.

    I believe the increased warnings in IE 9 are there because IE 9 is more security than previous versions. These are file types that have been known to be malicious.
    Of course I have a deep respect for that, but my question is how to presume this warning.

  4. #19
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    See if the other thread I linked in my previous post might help with your problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #20
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry I am not yet familiar with this e-mail-system. I cannot find any link through which I would be able to get rid of the window. Can you please forward the message to me or tell me how to find the link?

  6. #21
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,646
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    No Ted, it didn't. I apologize, I got a bit ahead of myself there.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #22
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by vquint View Post
    Sorry I am not yet familiar with this e-mail-system. I cannot find any link through which I would be able to get rid of the window. Can you please forward the message to me or tell me how to find the link?
    The link was in my post #17
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #23
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In Manage addons I found Toolbars & Extensions. But when I want to choose Run without permission I have to select a special program from the list on the right side. In the list Foxit Reader (the program through which the popup appears) is not mentioned. I can't choose Run without permission generally, I must select a special program.

  9. #24
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,646
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Ted, no, I had taken a look at that link. It seem that MS just doesn't trust our judgment!

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •