Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Backup: Laptop to Netbook

    My external hard drive just failed and I want to back up my Win7 Home Premium to my Netbook's Win 7 Starter system. What is the fastest or best way to transfer data?

    1 - wireless HomeGroup
    2 - Eithernet cable - Do I need a special crossover cable?
    3 - USB cable - Is this possible to hook the two computers together this way?

    I have been using the Win 7 backup system.

    Thanks, Bruce

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Only Ultimate and professional editions of Windows can backup to a network.
    You may need to hit the local office depot for some DVDs or get a USB stick with plenty of realestate.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    New Ext USB HD's are getting much less expensive. Might be a good time to check out a new one. I would also consider Imaging in addition to incremental Back ups of data. Also consider a more full featured Imaging app rather than the basic Win 7 Backup and Restore app. Many such apps are discussed at length in these forums.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I can do it! First, I shut off the Homegroup that I had established -- after reading Fred Langa's article.

    I can see on 'Network' both computers that are connected through my wireless system. I double-clicked on the second computer and was asked for a user name and password. Then I put in the name of that computer's 'User' and the password that I use to log in. I could see and access all the files that I had set up for sharing.

    Recall that this is for Win 7 Home Premium and Win 7 Starter. However, these will not backup to a network as Clint stated. Is this a limitation of the Win 7 backup program, or will Macrium Reflect allow me to backup through a network?

    Bruce

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    It is a limitation of the Windows 7 Backup.

    Joe

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    If you plan to backup a lot of data, the wireless connection will likely mean it will be a very slow operation.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    A Best Buy guy told me I can hook the two computers together with an A to A USB cable. I have not tried that as it seems unlikely that it would work and I don't want to do any damage. Thoughts?

    Thanks again, Bruce

  8. #8
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You'll likely do damage to one or both of the computers mainboards or PSUs.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Between the USB option and the wireless, better go with the wireless.

    If you have wireless, do you have a router too, or is it your modem that provides the wireless networking?

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I do have a wireless router. I think I will go with a crossover cable. I'll just hook it up once a week or when I want to do a backup. Here, for the record, is what I am purchasing. 3-foot crossover cable

    Bruce

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Doesn't your wireless router have a switch with Ethernet ports? I guess every single wireless router I have seen has one. If it does, just but a regular ethernet cable and connect the laptop to the router.

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My wireless router is nowhere near my desk, so I used a crossover cable to connect the two computers. I had trouble making them connect -- until I thought of the firewalls. After disconnecting from the Internet and shutting off both firewalls, the connection worked.

    I found a free backup program called BackUp Maker that was given a good review. I wanted one where I could restore specific files. It took about five hours to back up over this interface. I will do incremental backups over the wireless (with the firewalls on).

    Thanks to all for the help.
    Bruce

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •