Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    All Office 2007 apps on Win 7 64 pro. open only in 'safe mode'.

    G'day all.

    Firstly, I'm a computer tech. but I thought I would try here for a 'quick fix' before I spend more hours looking into this.

    This started happening a few weeks ago for no apparent reason, but I would say at this stage it's more than likely some sort of conflict with another program that has been installed.

    A hint may be that every now-and-then, I cannot drag icons on my desktop, tabs in Firefox, nor re-size columns in Total Commander (and other apps). Rebooting fixes these oddities, but doesn't fix the Office issue. I do not use Outlook and have no Office add-ons.

    All I have done so far is run an 'office repair' (didn't work) and had a cursory search of the web. There doesn't seem to be too much out there about this.

    Short of me uninstalling my most-recently-installed programs one-by-one (I don't want to think about that), does anybody have any hints that may be useful?

    All tips appreciated.

    Cheers.
    Wherever you go, there you are.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you checked the event logs?

    Any indication of an error code?

    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I resolved this issue as a good techie should....
    Here are the steps FYI:

    1) I logged on with a local administrator account
    2) created a new Windows login profile and renamed my original log-in (this is only necessary if you'd like the log-on name to be the same)
    3) Logged in to the new profile then rebooted
    4) logged in as admin again and copied all folders from my original log-in to the new one. Did NOT copy NTUser.dat, ntuser.dat.log, or
    ntuser.ini or any *.regtrans-ms files. Rebooted.
    5) Logged into the new account and tied up loose ends such as re-installing Roboform Everywhere and resurrecting a couple of 'startup' items.

    Now all Office applications again start properly.
    Cheers.
    Last edited by wreckage; 2011-05-29 at 06:11.
    Wherever you go, there you are.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to wreckage For This Useful Post:

    Andrew Lockton (2011-05-29)

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,853
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    Thanks for the description of how you fixed this problem. That is a new method of resolving systemic problems I hadn't encountered before.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •