Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Jessup, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cannot connect to primary DNS server

    Home network with three Win 7 machines and one Vista Home Premium. On the Local network all four machines see each other and can connect.
    The three Win 7 machines can access the Internet with no problem.
    Cannot access internet with Vista machine. Checking diagnostics with internet explorer, get error message that cannot connect to Primary DNS Server.
    The same problem occurs when having the Vista machine connect to cable modem, or using a Verizon Wireless Modem, or connecting thru a phone modem to an ISP (AOL).

    Any suggestions would be helpful before I re-install Vista.

    Bob

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,211
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 566 Times in 506 Posts
    Does the DNS IP address look correct?

    Is it the same as the Win7 PCs?

    Joe

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Jessup, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, it looks correct. Remember the same error message happens when not going through a router. If I connect directly to Cable modem, same problem. If I connect with a Verizon broadband usb modem. If I connect through a phone modem. It makes no difference on how I try to access the internet, Explorer gives the same error message of not being able to connect to primary DNS server.
    I am stumped!

    Bob

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,211
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 566 Times in 506 Posts
    Have you tried something such as OpenDNS?

    Their addresses are
    208.67.222.222 (resolver1.opendns.com)
    208.67.220.220 (resolver2.opendns.com)

    Joe

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Jessup, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How can I use openDNS with a Verizon USB Broadband Modem?

    Bob

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,211
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 566 Times in 506 Posts
    Change the TCP/IP properties for the network connection.

    Joe

  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Jessup, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Still can not connect to Primary DNS Server. I have tried re-installing windows internet explorer (IE9). Same problem. Should I be looking for a problem with one of the windows services not loading up?

    Bob

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,211
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 566 Times in 506 Posts
    I don't know if this will help but you could try Complete Internet Repair. If it does help I'm out of ideas.

    Joe

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Jessup, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I finally solved the problem by doing a DNS cache flush a couple of times. The second time after a reboot, it did the trick.

    Bob

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,211
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 566 Times in 506 Posts
    Glad you got it worked out. Thanks for posting your solution.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •