Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System restore failure

    I had a case recently where everything went disastrously wrong and I had forgotten to back up (Acronis TI) before doing whatever I was doing to screw it. I tried all the supposed System Restore points that were indicated, starting with the most recent and every dang one of them failed to restore.
    I have no idea why this would be so, and it makes the use of it pretty near useless as a back up system.

    Has anyone got any idea at all why System Restore doesn't?

    It's pretty nasty if you are relying on it.

    I finished up having to do a Windows repair to fix my problem - not something I would like to do again if I can help it, although it was successful.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I moved your post to its own thread. Even thought the question or problem may be similar to another please start your own thread and do not hijack another thread.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Sometimes you need to disable your a/v solution to get a system restore to work. Other times you may have to try in safe mode.

    In my experience System Restore is great when it works but is not the most reliable technology.

    Joe

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Delhi, Delhi, India
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    elementary suggestion: stick to windows backup. Always.
    [twitter][twitter]rssra[/twitter][/twitter]

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    As you know, Windows System Restore is a limited solution and may not be relied upon to recover from all mishaps.
    Having more information on your particular mishap may shed light on why SR didn't perform as seemingly advertised.

    System restore should never be relied upon as a sole remedy, as you have learned, but merely as an adjunct to well known and proven solutions like disk imaging.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Don"t forget Acronis again. I recreate Images whenever something changes. This has saved my bacon more than I care to say.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have used system restore for before but not avail and that is always the case everytime I wanted to restore. So I decided to use Acronis also.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    See if see if http://bertk.mvps.org/html/srfail.html helps. Its for XP but also may apply to windows 7. Also, malware and/or corrupt system files can prevent System Restore from working.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •