Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Newbie to the "Lounge" and Win7: some questions

Hi everyone;

As my subject line says - I'm a real newbie to Win7. In fact, I don't even have it yet. But here's a bit about me and my current setup.

I'm no youngster, and I have been using computers for about 20 some years. I used to consider myself as fairly knowledgeable (say intermediate level), but technology has way outrun me. Most of the things I read now, are way above my head. I think I got totally lost somewhere along the way by not learning about the user accounts among other things in XP.

I'm still using XP Pro SP3. I have two 500GB drives, both partitioned the same into 4 partitions. I do an image back-up once a week to the second internal drive as well as to a 1 TB external drive. I used "Tweak XP (or maybe it was "Tweak UI") to move my documents, music and photos folders to separate partitions renamed to what they contained, and have never incurred any problems with this setup.

I started reading the thread: "Moving user folders off C:\ drive", as I would like to continue to use my previous method of partitions etc., and I'm now more confused than ever. Two things I picked up though:

1- from "Tarbo" in post 3 Conversely, the loss of data folder continuity is not a risk to the Windows operating environment itself, so just moving the special folders within the user profile that can be moved is the way to go, and you don't even have to do that if you're a fan of libraries in Windows 7

2 - from "DaveA" in post 36: "I have done away with using partitions since the original reason has gone away, and have this second drive and/or networked storage in use. I do NOT direct the users folder there, I just elect to control where I save things by selecting the drive and/or folders as needed.