Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: win7-64bit sp1?

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    win7-64bit sp1?

    Hello,
    I've been watching Susan Bradley s comments and instructions on installing sp1.
    She advises the d/l page
    7601.17514.101119-1850_Update_Sp_Wave1-GRMSP1.1_DVD.iso
    1953.3MB
    Download


    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.AMD64CHK.Symbols.msi
    262.7MB
    Download


    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.AMD64FRE.Symbols.msi
    287.8MB
    Download


    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.IA64CHK.Symbols.msi
    241.8MB
    Download


    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.IA64FRE.Symbols.msi
    193.4MB
    Download


    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.X86CHK.Symbols.msi
    294.5MB
    Download


    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.X86FRE.Symbols.msi
    330.6MB
    Download


    windows6.1-KB976932-IA64.exe
    511.6MB
    Download


    windows6.1-KB976932-X64.exe
    903.2MB
    Download


    windows6.1-KB976932-X86.exe
    537.8MB
    Download
    OK....NOW what??? I can't tell for sure what to d/l!~? I think it will be either IA64.exe or X64.exe , but I'm NOT sure.
    Thanks for help/suggestions.
    John in Dallas.


  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lonestarone View Post
    Hello,
    I've been watching Susan Bradley s comments and instructions on installing sp1.

    windows6.1-KB976932-X64.exe
    903.2MB
    Download


    windows6.1-KB976932-X86.exe
    537.8MB
    Download
    X64 if you have a 64 Bit OS, or X86 if you have a 32 Bit OS
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    This may help:

    Files Description:

    7601.17514.101119-1850_Update_Sp_Wave1-GRMSP1.1_DVD.iso -
    This DVD image contains standalone update for all architectures.
    windows6.1-KB976932-X86.exe -
    This application installs Sp1 to a 32-bit machine running Windows 7.
    windows6.1-KB976932-X64.exe -
    This application installs Sp1 to a 64-bit machine running Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2.
    windows6.1-KB976932-IA64.exe -
    This application installs Sp1 to an Itanium 64-bit Windows Server 2008 R2.
    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.X86FRE.Symbols.msi -
    Standalone debugging symbols (free) for 32-bit machines.
    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.X86CHK.Symbols.msi -
    Standalone debugging symbols (checked) for 32-bit machines.
    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.AMD64FRE.Symbols.msi -
    Standalone debugging symbols (free) for 64-bit machines. This contains debugging symbols for both Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1.
    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.AMD64CHK.Symbols.msi -
    Standalone debugging symbols (checked) for 64-bit machines. This contains debugging symbols for both Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1.
    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.IA64FRE.Symbols.msi -
    Standalone debugging symbols (free) for Itanium 64-bit machines.
    Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.IA64CHK.Symbols.msi -
    Standalone debugging symbols (checked) for Itanium 64-bit machines.
    Homepage and more info here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...b-3a9b77cdfdda



    Stay away from the "standalone debugging symbols", if you don't know what they are, you don't need them.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    So what's the difference between "checked" debugging symbols and "free" ones?! (I like to know just what I'm staying away from...)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    So what's the difference between "checked" debugging symbols and "free" ones?! (I like to know just what I'm staying away from...)
    The first couple of posts at Standalone vs Free debuggin symbols should provide your answer.

    Joe

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    dallas, tx. usa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks All,
    I took the plunge and all went well!! Appreciate your help/suggestions.
    John in Dallas

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •