Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System repair disc error

    Following Fred's good advice I attempted to make a system repair disc but got a window saying the parameters were incorrect and an error message 0x80070057. Does anyone know how to sort this?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Fred's good advice? A link to that advice might help!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,586
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Try clicking the Start Orb and typing "create" in the search box. Right click "Create a system repair disk" and select "Run as administrator".

    Joe

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry to be imprecise. I'm referring to Fred's article in the latest news;etter about making a Windows safety net

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the idea Joe but i'm afraid I got the same repy parameters are incorrect with the same error message.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,586
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I'm afraid I can't find a definitive answer. I found several possibilities in the links at Windows 7 create system repair disc 0x80070057.

    Make sure you at least have your data backed up before proceeding. That way if worse comes to worse and you have to do a reinstall you'll have a good backup of the important stuff.

    Joe

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    norrum (2011-05-16)

  8. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA)
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I, too, tried using Fred's article to create an image and got to the point where I received an error notice - something about a shadow image or some such. Thus I'll stick to Macrium Reflect or Paragon Backup and Recovery 2011, both of which are free.

  9. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    One solution:

    I had the 0x80070057 error, too. After some searching, I found it is a very common problem among people trying to create the system repair disk. The most common workaround was to boot from the original Windows 7 install disk and create the repair disk from there.

    I kept looking for a better solution. I thought it was an access issue but even using my default administrator account made no difference. This is the account that Windows 7 forces you to create upon installation or first use.

    The solution for me was to activate the hidden (also called "built-in") Administrator account. Log on to that account and I could create both a repair CDROM and repair DVD. Go back to my default administrator account and I get the old error message.

    Note that switching users from your regular account to the Administrator acccount does not work. You must initially log on as Administrator.

    For information on activating the hidden Administrator account, see (among many sites)
    Built-in Administrator Account - Enable or Disable

    I am using Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit, SP1
    Last edited by RandySea; 2011-05-19 at 11:43.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to RandySea For This Useful Post:

    bigpygme (2011-05-19)

  11. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile may be useful.

    I Had a similar problem trying to make a security copy, and changing de coma ( , ) by the point ( . ) fixed the problem. Panel control, clock, language, región ... If you need the whole instruccións, ask me in my mail <maxedum@gmail.com> and I´ll send you a file with instruccions I applied. It worked in my situation. (Sorry about my english, I´m from Chile and know almost nothing about computing. Good luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •