Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger JC Zorkoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts

    Trouble with Rescue CD from Macrim Reflect

    I created a Linux rescue CD from the menus of Macrim Reflect. It reported a successful CD creation.

    When I attempt to boot from CD using this disk, I see the Loading Linux message on the screen and then the screen goes blank.

    I waited for over a minute and nothing happened other than the CD drive eventually spinning down.

    I have tried creating CD's with the compatibility mode ON and OFF, with the same result.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for what I can try from here?


    Windows 7 Pro x64 - SP1
    GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3 (Rev 2.0) - Intel Motherboard
    Intel Quad Core i5-750 - Processor
    G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) - Memory
    ATI Radeon 4550 512MB DDR3 - Video Card Latest drivers
    Samsung DVD-RW 2M Cache SATA 22X DVD±R Model SH-S223L

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi JC,

    Just a couple of suggestions. Have you tried the 'Debug mode' Advanced Option just below the 'Compatibility mode' option. Debug mode may provide some error codes or information you can use on Macrium's forums (or Support, if you have the Pro version).

    Also, are you using the most up to date version of Macrium Reflect? Have you checked on the CD creation page for any updates to the CD image?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger JC Zorkoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
    Thanks Deadeye,

    I have not tried the debug mode, yet. I assumed with the blank screen that there would be no messages to see.

    I am using version 4.2 build 3141 (Free edition). Check for updates in the Macrium program says this is the latest. I have not looked for a separate update to the CD Image, but I will.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    JC,
    Hello... Two things that i would do..
    1. Try another run "at boot time" CD.... EX: "G parted" ( or any of the partition managers) , Windows "Repair Disk", Acronis, etc.

    2. Check in your "BIOS" to make sure that Boot from "CD group" is set correctly... Usually it's set after "Floppy" and before "Hard Drive Group" Regards Fred

    PS: Does your PC use a separate SATA controller card?
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger JC Zorkoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
    I created a Linux Boot disk from EASEUS Partition manager and was able to successfully boot into the EASEUS program. Therefore, any issue of the BIOS's ability to boot to a CD can be laid to rest.

    My motherboard has an onboard SATA controller which I am using.

    I went to the Macrium Reflect website and looked through (Searched) the forum postings, but found little help. They will only allow people who have PURCHASED the full product to post a question, so I could not ask the question from my original post. The only thing I found was a comment by one of the moderators which stated that the hardware support in the Linux environment was very limited (what ever that means). Other posters said that the Linux Rescue CD did not work, The Bart PE environment will not work with Windows 7 file systems, thus leaving the Windows PE environment the only option, but that is only available with the PAID version.

    My conclusion is that they HYPE Linux support for the free version, but it does not work; they are trying to LURE people into purchasing the full version; and the free version is useless if a bootable Rescue CD cannot be created.

    I am now very dissapointed with Macrium Reflect. Can anyone show that there is something wrong with my conclusion?

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC Zorkoff View Post
    My conclusion is that they HYPE Linux support for the free version, but it does not work;

    Can anyone show that there is something wrong with my conclusion?
    JC,
    Hello... Yes i can ... I have made and used Macrium Reflect (free) and have successfully "Burned" the "Linux Rescue Disk" ,and used it on Vista ..."7" 32 and 64 bit OS's... Also... I have "recovered " my OS's using it many times.... So... Lets keep investigating this problem....cause it (Macrium Free) works. Regards Fred
    PS: In the "Other Tasks" tab check "Defaults" and be sure that you have all your "switches" set correctly .
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-05-17 at 16:05.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    JC Zorkoff (2011-05-18)

  8. #7
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    I do not know what the solution is to your dilemma. My newest Windows 7 PC was purchased in December of 2009. Perhaps yours is much more recent, and the developers at Macrium have to play catch up with the Linux CD. I can only tell you that I use the free edition of Macrium to image backup four Windows 7 machines, 3 of which are 64 bit, and I used the Linux version of the rescue CD (burned in Compatibility mode), to successfully restore images twice each on two of the 64 bit installations. I have also used it on a Vista Laptop to restore an image, as well as an XP machine.

    If you have not yet tried uninstalling Macrium followed by a reinstall, then you might want to consider doing so.

    Paragon offers a free image program that I have used successfully before. You might give it a shot too.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Deadeye81 For This Useful Post:

    JC Zorkoff (2011-05-18)

  10. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    If I recall correctly, Macrium offers a choice to make an iso image of the Linux recovery. You can then burn the iso image to a CD. I used the FREE CD BurnerXP -- Operating Systems: Windows 2000/XP/2003 Server/Vista/2008/Win7 (x86 / x64) to burn the iso image.

    HTH

  11. #9
    3 Star Lounger JC Zorkoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
    OK Fred & Deadeye,

    I am open to further investigation. I am running the latest Macrium Reflect 4.2 build 3141 (free) - Linux image is up to date according to program. I am using both the compatibility mode and the debug mode when the CD's are created.

    I created a Linux rescue CD from Macrium Reflect doing a direct burn and I also tried an ISO image and used imgburn successfully. So I think my CD's are fine.

    When I attempt to boot from CD using any of these disks, I see the following Linux messages on the screen and then the screen goes blank.

    ISO Linux 4.2 2010-04-21....

    Loading Linux26....

    Loading intrd.bin...

    <Screen goes blank in about 1 second>

    It is clearly attempting to start the Linux boot image. So now, could there be a BIOS setting for the video that is not correct? Does it take a long time to complete a Linux boot sequence - like 3 to 10 minutes - and I did not wait long enough?

    My system was built in December of 2010, the specs are in the first post. I am now suspecting a hardware issue, but there are no specifications that I could find at the MR website as to what is needed by the Linux environment.

  12. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    JC,
    First Question ..
    1.Can Macrium Make a backup ? Without problems, and can you "mount" the "Image"
    2. If no try to do the "Un-install" and "re-install thing"
    3. Also where did you install "MR" to ?...Is it your "Default" OS ...or some other place?
    Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  13. #11
    3 Star Lounger JC Zorkoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
    Fred,

    I can make image backups just fine and MR is installed in the default location on my single boot Windows 7 x64 system.

    However, I decided to explore the BIOS possibility some more. My motherboard supports SATA3 and USB 3.0 and I thought that these might be beyond the Linux capability. When I disabled these features (which I don't use right now), the same CD that got hung up before now completed its boot and I got into the rescue screen of Macrium Reflect.

    I am sorry I jumped to the conclusion that it was the program's fault. They just cannot deal with the newer hardware, whether it is used or not. If I use the SATA3 and USB 3.0 ports in the future, I will have to remember that they are not compatible with the Linux environment of MR 4.2.

    Thanks for your help in proving that the Linux environment does in fact work and that I should keep looking for a problem on my end.

  14. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    JC,
    Glad that you have found the solution to the problem.. and also posted back with the results ...All the information will help someone else down the road I'm sure. Best Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi - I am having the same issue. Have tried compatibility mode and debug mode but all I get is the blank screen from a Linux boot disk. I tried the same fix as given by JC, but my laptop BIOS does not seem to allow you to modify/disable such things. Its a Samsung X460. The BIOS is Phoenix - I have other PCs that allow such disabling, and had thought "compatibility mode" was aimed at doing that. The CD boots OK on other systems.

    Any ideas?

  16. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Morph2 View Post

    Any ideas?
    Morph2,
    Have you checked that your BIOS is set to boot 1st from a CD \ DVD?... should be by default ...but who knows Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  17. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh it tries to boot OK, and I get the "Loading Linux" etc but then a blank screen, like JC got initially. I have tried the compatibility setting too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •