2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Boot Screen at Start-Up

Hi to all,
    I am a newbie and had problems upgrading my Dell Inspiron 530 64 Bit computer from VISTA to Windows 7 so the installation was stopped and started several times. Now when I start up I get a Boot Screen with 3 Windows 7 options. Is there any way to get rid of this so each time it just loads Win 7 without asking me to choose an option ?
    Thank you, Respectfully, Graphics Guy

Thanks
    I would not do the In Place Upgrade option, but the Custom Install option. Place the Win 7 OS in the same partition as the Vista OS was. After installing Win 7 to completion you might need an app such as Easy BCD to fix the MBR to elliminate the incorrect choices. Just be sure you choose the correct ones to get rid of. Name the correct one to something easy to pick out, like Graphics Guy PC or such. After getting this fixed, check out a couple of tip sites to help in learning Win 7:

How To Geek

Paul Thurrott's Windows 7 Supersite

Windows Seven Forum Tutorial

These sites are gold mines of information on customizing and using Win 7.

p.s. After you do a custom install of Win 7 a special folder is placed in the root folder (C Drive) called windows.old. This folder includes everything from the oldd OS. You can open this folder and copy things you might need to the new OS (documents, pics, musics, contacts, favorites, etc)
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-05-17 at 15:39.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted

Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi Ted,

Thanks again for the speedy reply.