Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    ? about W7 firewall, CCleaner, and firewall rules

    I hope this is the right area to post this question:
    I use M'soft's firewall (along w/a hardware router).
    I haven't set up any W7 firewall rules, so I use it as it was installed with W7.

    I recently upgraded CCleaner to V3.06.1433

    When I use CCleaner to "scan for registry issues" it flags 12 "invalid firewall rules."
    I haven't used CCLeaner to delete these, but I'm curious why they show up now.

    Has any other user of CCleaner had this happen to them?

    If not, and if SFC doesn't find any problems, how would I restore the M'Soft firewall
    to it's "out of the box", pristine condition?

    Thanks,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Dick, I've never seen any FW issues in CCleaner.

    Attachment 28089
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Roderunner For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2011-05-19)

  4. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I've just found a number of invalid firewall issues in CCleaner, too. Checked and my MS Firewall is set up just like Roderunner's screen shot. Like Dick, I haven't done anything with them yet. Waiting for reply from new thread I just posted about the issues in Security & Backups forum (before seeing this thread). Will be interested to learn next steps!

    Linda

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by IreneLinda View Post
    I've just found a number of invalid firewall issues in CCleaner, too. Checked and my MS Firewall is set up just like Roderunner's screen shot. Like Dick, I haven't done anything with them yet. Waiting for reply from new thread I just posted about the issues in Security & Backups forum (before seeing this thread). Will be interested to learn next steps!

    Linda
    Linda, the link I gave was for reading only. Post in your own thread.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    @Dick-Y

    Can you post a screenshot?

    I'd guess that either they are predefined rules for Windows features that are not active or rules that some software that has been uninstalled created.

    In either case, I wouldn't worry about them.

    Joe

  7. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Okay, got it. Will head over there now. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •