Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Windows Defender's, Symantec AV nonsense

    OS: Win7 Pro

    First complaint: Yesterday the eighteenth, Windows Defender scanned my computer while logged in as a standard user. Today while logged in as Administrator, Defender scanned my computer again, using nearly identical subset of files. How do I stop that?

    Second: Symantec AV 7.5 scans whenever any time, even though it isn't committed to any scheduled scan (at the time of this post its doing a scan); tells me I have trojan horse infected file when I know they are just copy protected to dissuade cracking, and keeps sending to jail (quarantining) an innocent joke program... (the old joke about using your optical drive tray as a drink holder).

    Three: SAV seems to behave as a stingy petty child while Defender scans or is installing an update.

    Seriously can I spank them both?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P.A. View Post
    Seriously can I spank them both?
    Hi P.A. welcome o the lounge.
    Why the H*** not, try using Avira Antvir. Win Def must be disabled & S AV removed before installing.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    540
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    ??? You're using TWO active AV programs simultaneously?? That would seem to be the problem. (D'Oh! ) Uninstall BOTH, install Microsoft Security Essentials OR Symantec NIS 2011, OR Avira.

    Zig
    Last edited by Zig; 2011-05-19 at 13:46.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi P.A. welcome o the lounge.
    Why the H*** not, try using Avira Antvir. Win Def must be disabled & S AV removed before installing.
    Yeah, I thought about going with Avast! Antivirus, it also works good on a netbook - so I'd have protection and maybe less interference.

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Zig View Post
    ??? You're using TWO active AV programs simultaneously?? That would seem to be the problem. (D'Oh! ) Uninstall BOTH, install Microsoft Security Essentials OR Symantec NIS 2011, OR Avira.

    Zig
    Thank you Zig for your interest but please read more carefully, I do know better than to use two AV suites on a systems. Windows Defender is Microsoft's idea and tells me that's going to scan, S. AV doesn't. I was also ask if there was an other way to stop the other problems too...

    Yeah, I'm pleased with Windows 7 overall - not sure is gutting Defender is a good idea.
    Last edited by P.A.; 2011-05-19 at 17:42. Reason: typo

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi P.A., Defender in most peoples eyes is well past it's sell by date. If MSE is used it gets disabled, Avira tells you to disable it before installing, as does Avast Tech Support.
    As previously stated, I suggest Avira.

    Attachment 28104
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2011-05-19 at 19:05.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    As stated, MSE automatically disables Defender as it includes an AM component as well. It seems that most of the better Av apps include an AM component so that defender (this is an older MS offering and may be past it's prime) should be disabled. Methods to disable Windows Defender are shown on How To Geek.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks.
    10 characters required it says, how do you complicate a thank you?

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Mr. Myers. I'll like not getting told to download updates.

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok here's picture you can reuse as you like thanks, Roderunner & Ted.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #11
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P.A. View Post
    Ok here's picture you can reuse as you like thanks, Roderunner & Ted.
    Hi P.A. have this one as a good return gesture.

    Attachment 28119
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •