Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: A 3 Hour Tour?

  1. #16
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Infinicore,,
    Let me re-state my C) question ( posted pre-coffee , so please forgive me ,,lol).
    Trackball/touchpad works in Hiren's menu from boot ,down into various programs on cd,no not in dos , sorry 4 brain fart.
    Hiren is aviable from home site , since ver 9.9 , they removed all non free utilities.
    Oh yeah same trackball /boot disk works / has worked fine on 3 other systems and xp ,vista, but not on dell / win 7.
    My backup habit uses Ghost as the main star of the show.

  2. #17
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    460
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
    Don't know about the trackball, could just be a glitch or some imposed restriction of Win 7 (don't get me started there ) for security's sake or something.

    Ghost is alright as long as its been updated so its aware of new OSes or it only operates in its own DOS-like environment without involving the operating systems. I just looked up Hiren's and I guess you are using Ghost for Linux? If you are indeed using Norton Ghost from Hiren's it must be old, which is ok if you can still verify an image and don't mind always pausing your other Windows tasks to run the imaging in its own DOS-like environment.

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Great scenery on the 3 hour tour ( i took the longer trail ,enjoyed it too).
    Thanks to RetiredGeek and those on this thread who shared the knowledge.
    I have set my system up as was laid out , worked great.
    Seems the Dell touchpad / logitec trackball still are kinda haywire in non windows mode , but hey...
    Thanks.

    Good day to all.

    Looking for opinions /ideas on a great ( preferred free) software program to monitor / measure , internet signal strength , speed , tweaks etc.

    Started new thread here ( although i really value the knowledge / characters in this thread ),,,
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...867#post838867
    Last edited by acoustic1218; 2012-02-02 at 10:27.

  4. #19
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need help

    @RetiredGeek Umm i wanted to ask what so i have to do to remove the RECOVERY PARTITION for my DELL INSPIRON 1545 which has the attached image as my partitions.

    Currently using WINDOWS 7 x86 Ultimate
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #20
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,480
    Thanks
    211
    Thanked 849 Times in 781 Posts
    Antimist,

    Welcome to the lounge as a new poster.

    You're in luck, my laptop is also a Dell 1545 so you should be able to follow the instructions in the initial post w/o change.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  6. #21
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RetiredGeek, Thanks a lot for the reply but i just wanted to ask that should i do this because my C: drive seems to be set to ACTIVE and SYSTEM as in the screenshot posted above.
    and I am pretty much a noob when it comes to partitions
    Last edited by antimist; 2012-06-18 at 09:54.

  7. #22
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,913
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked 356 Times in 320 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Object:
    Remove Dell Recovery & Utility Partitions
    What was the benefit of your seven hour ordeal?

    If you were to sell that computer, would you be able to restore the original applications?

    Bruce

  8. #23
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,480
    Thanks
    211
    Thanked 849 Times in 781 Posts
    Bruce,

    I always keep an Image of the computer AFTER I set it up and clean all the C**P off if it. So no problemo!
    I also now have one less Primary Partition so I can setup more dual booting options.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •