Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: no audio device

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Santa Cruz Ca.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry no audio device

    I have a Compaq Presario running XP-SP-2.
    My sound quit working and I get the message no audio device in control panel/sound.
    I went into device manager and everything looked OK. I have Sound Max so I uninstalled it and reinstalled with rebooting. Still no audio device.
    I did a repair installation of XP, still no audio device.
    I went online and downloaded the drivers for Soundmax, uninstalled, reinstalled and no sound of any kind and still the message "no audio device".
    Now what?
    engineman

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I wonder if your sound hardware has failed. Unsure how to check this hypotesis.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Try looking in services Start -> Run -> Services.msc and see if Windows Audio is started.

    Where did you get the drivers from? Intel? Compaq?

    What model Presario is it?

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Santa Cruz Ca.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That did it, I have sound!
    Why did it turn off on me?
    Should Windows audio be run on automatic or manual?
    Engineman

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Glad that worked for you!!
    Try leaving it on Automatic.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to tfspry For This Useful Post:

    Engineman (2011-05-21)

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    Glad that worked for you!!
    Try leaving it on Automatic.
    better yet, ALWAYS leave the "Windows Audio" service set on "Automatic" if you want your audio device to work correctly at all times.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •