Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Thumbs up Question for Ted Myers.

    Hi Ted, I believe your good lady uses Acronis 2010. Could you tell me the size & free space on her C: drive, and how many files are made when a new full back up is made.
    My friend uses 2010 and somehow he gets up to 4 when he does it. His C: drive is over 350gb with very little installed, as he has just done a clean install OEM XP Pro.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The total installed on her PC is approx. 30 to 35 GB on 2 partitions (C - OS & apps, D - Data & user data). The total size of her HD is 320 GB composed of C Drive approx. 75 GB, D Drive remainder of the total 320 GB. The compressed size of the Image is approx. 20 to 22 GB all included in 1 file. This 1 file includes both C & D drives. This is very close to what I have with v2011. In fact almost identical. She has more pics on D, I have more apps on C.

    When I have to restore, I can only restore one partition at a time, either C or D. This is the way the app is designed to work. The app pulls the info for the selected partition out of the 1 aforementioned file and restores it to the partition I choose to restore to (generally the partition where that info resided before I screwed something up).

    I am not sure if the XP your friend uses may cause a difference or not.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-05-21 at 20:57.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Ted, will post an image of friends 'back up' soon.

    Attachment 28115
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    789
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Hi there Roderunner. I like your feather "Thank You". Where did you get it?
    (My Setup: Custom built: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 10 Pro (64 bit) - (UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2015 Premium, NIS 2016, VMWare Workstation12 Pro, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    RR,

    The number of files Acronis creates will depend on 2 factors:
    1. How is the backup drive formatted? If it is FAT they will get more files due to the max file size of a fat file. If it's NTFS it should be only 1 file {that's what I get using 2010} unless....
    2. They have made the selection in the menus to have the files fit on CDs or DVDs then each file will be 650/700Mb or 4Gb respectively.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by petesmst View Post
    Hi there Roderunner. I like your feather "Thank You". Where did you get it?
    Right click it & select save as....
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    The number of files Acronis creates will depend on 2 factors:
    1. How is the backup drive formatted? If it is FAT they will get more files due to the max file size of a fat file. If it's NTFS it should be only 1 file {that's what I get using 2010} unless....
    2. They have made the selection in the menus to have the files fit on CDs or DVDs then each file will be 650/700Mb or 4Gb respectively.
    Thanks RG, bye the way, my friend removed Acronis & is now using Norton Ghost 9.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    789
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @Roderunner: I should have known that!! (blush)

    (My Setup: Custom built: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 10 Pro (64 bit) - (UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2015 Premium, NIS 2016, VMWare Workstation12 Pro, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by petesmst View Post
    @Roderunner: I should have known that!! (blush)
    I won't tell anyone. Attachment 28166
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •