Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts

    Windows Firewall - invalid firewall rules - ccleaner

    I use the Windows Firewall on my W7 system. I have never set up any of my own rules; nor have I added any product that creates them.

    Recently I installed the latest version of CCleaner. In the attached picture you can see that CCleaner flags 12 invalid rules.
    Invalid_Firewall_Rules.jpg

    I haven't proceeded with letting CCleaner delete these items; and I was wondering if other CCleaner users have seen the same things. If not, does anyone have any idea what would cause such rule changes? Also, how would I go about re-installing a fresh copy of the W7 Firewall?

    Thanks for any help offered.
    Dick

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    5,935
    Thanks
    191
    Thanked 722 Times in 658 Posts
    Dick,

    Did you perhaps uninstall NetPress?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
    RG:
    No. I dont even know what NetPress is.
    Dick

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,306
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 585 Times in 523 Posts
    Netproj.exe is a utility program to connect to a network projector.

    Is there any more information about why the rule is invalid?

    Joe

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
    Joe:
    No. As I mentioned I have not monkeyed around with W7 firewall rules at any time.
    I did the following:
    I scanned my system for Netpress and got no hits. I did the same for Netproj.exe with the same "no hits."
    I then unchecked "obsolete software" on the registry scan side of CCleaner, and the 12 invalid rules don't show up.
    So, I'm going to leave well enough alone, and not worry about these invalid rules - unless someone comes up with a better
    solution.

    Out of curiousity, though, is there a way to repair/reinstall the W7 Firewall, to put it back to it's "out of the box' condition?

    Thanks,
    Dick

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
    Nevermind. I typed in firewall.cpl, and found a "restore" button that puts the Firewall back to it's original condition.
    Thanks RG and Joe for your help.
    Dick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •