Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

    The need for Windows 7 Service Pack 1




    PATCH WATCH

    The need for Windows 7 Service Pack 1
    By Susan Bradley

    I'm revisiting my advice and guidance on Windows 7 SP1, because many Windows Secrets readers had questions.

    And we'll revisit issues with that Patch Watch problem child, .NET 4.


    The full text of this column is posted at windowssecrets.com/patch-watch/The-need-for-Windows-7-Service-Pack-1/ (opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Billerica MA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Update Readiness Tool - optional?

    Concerning "Ready for a new System Update Readiness Tool?", there is a Microsoft comment at
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947821
    "
    Important This update is offered on Windows Update only to computers that have a condition that the tool could resolve."

    I take this comment as an indication that the Tool need not be manually installed unless there appears to be a problem with Updates.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Eugene, OR
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Windows 7 SP1 Compatibilty Issue

    I have a cautionary note for those who have a specific configuration, similar to mine...

    I recently acquired a new laptop (Lenovo TP x220T) that came with Win7 Pro (SP1) installed. When I tried to install MS Streets & Trips 2011 (ST11) on it I ran into a problem -- After a seemingly normal installation, ST11 will not load, it hangs with the splash screen showing. Several sessions with MS Support resulted in identification of a compatibility problem between SP1 and ST11. The sticky point comes when trying to uninstall SP1, it is not possible to remove it in this case because the original Win7 Pro (SP1) install was from an integrated source. So, I am unable to use ST11 on my laptop, and I am unable to remove SP1. This seems a good reason to delay installing SP1 on my other Win7 systems, at least until MS provides a fix for this compatibility problem... The indication from MS was that this problem is fairly widespread, unfortunately. Perhaps that will hasten the development of a fix for this issue. YMMV.

  4. #4
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ghurlbut View Post
    Concerning "Ready for a new System Update Readiness Tool?", there is a Microsoft comment at
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947821
    "
    Important This update is offered on Windows Update only to computers that have a condition that the tool could resolve."

    I take this comment as an indication that the Tool need not be manually installed unless there appears to be a problem with Updates.
    Even when it isn't offered, running the Tool can resolve some problems. It takes only a few minutes to run (although downloading it can take considerably longer) and it does not harm systems without errors. If you use any form of Registry Cleaner or System Optimizer, running this Tool will not harm your computer, and it could save you the time and frustrations of a failed SP1 install.
    -- Bob Primak --

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I seriously don't understand this and hope somebody can clarify it for me.

    I followed all advice concerning patches: I spent at least a whole weekend sifting through all of the ones that were offered to me after I (finally) installed Win7 on my system, researched each and every patch on windowssecrets.com (Thank you, Susan! I was able to avoid quite a lot of patches that were completely unnecessary for my system or would have even put it into a temporary comatose state!), and along the way I created a detailed document as a reminder.

    Now that all lights are green for Service Pack 1 does this not mean all my carefully selected patch-work was for nothing? Will SP1 not simply install ALL patches? As far as I can see, there are no options to have a selective install (= SP1 minus the unwanted patches). Is this correct? Was this a lesson in futility?

    I'm just trying to understand how to proceed now. Currently it looks to me as if I should just install all the patches all the time and simply deal with the aftermath -- because, in the end, there's no way around them anyway. Is this true?

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Unhappy Update to Firefox 4.0?

    The article also mentions upgrading to Firefox 4.0

    I'm currently holding off on upgrading to Firefox 4 because of Roboform insisting I re-purchase their product (in spite of them promising that all future updates would be free) - lots of anger around about this. I wonder how many others are holding off for the same reason - or more likely upgrading to Firefox 4.0 then getting a shock. It's probably worth mentioning this limitation in the next newsletter.

    I'm evaluating alternatives such as LastPass.

    The need to pay extra for GoodSync to sync passwords is also a bit of a cheek.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    When you (Susan) gave the OK to install SP1, I did so. As you noted, it would take about an hour - and it did. My concern now is that I don't see KB976932 listed with my installed updates. If I run Windows Update, it doesn't indicate that the patch is needed. Anyone have any idea why I'm not seeing that update?

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by henryvii View Post
    I'm currently holding off on upgrading to Firefox 4 because of Roboform insisting I re-purchase their product (in spite of them promising that all future updates would be free) - lots of anger around about this.
    ...
    The need to pay extra for GoodSync to sync passwords is also a bit of a cheek.
    I was a little annoyed about the Roboform issue - although I discovered there is a Firefox extension on the Roboform website that allows the old version of Roboform to work in Firefox 4.

    But eventually I decided to pay the money and get the new version of Roboform, because some of the new features are very useful to me, e.g. being able to integrate the RoboForm toolbar into other applications, not just browser-based apps, much better than the manual copy/paste from the passcard I used to do for Skype etc. YMMV but I found that worthwhile.

  9. #9
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    To All --

    Installing any Service Pack will make some of the pre-SP updates seem to disappear. They are no longer needed after the upgrade. While the Service Packs do roll up the accumulated effects of previous patches, they often include fixes and updates of problem patches. So all of our selective patching while the patches were still green (new) and less seasoned has not been for nothing. And when a Service Pack updates the system files, often the older patches are no longer needed. It's almost like a system refresh, only without reinstalling Windows from the beginning.
    -- Bob Primak --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •