Star Lounger
    Thanks

Tiff graphics in Word 2003 vs 2010

I have a LOT of experience inserting graphics (in various file formats) into Word 2003. Many of them are tiff files. In my experience the resulting quality is VERY good providing that the pictures are scaled to their original native size or some integral multiple based on assumed printing at 300 dpi; i.e. if the picture is 600 pixels wide it should be sized in Word to 2 inches wide. And so on.

I am now converting to Word 2010. I am dissapointed to see that the quality has apparently degraded. The picutures just don't look good any more, pixels and fine detail are lost, text is pixelated, etc. I hope I am doing something wrong!

I have attached three files to demonstrate this problem: a tiff file, a .doc file containing it, and a .docx file containing it. The tiff picture is a graph with a lot of fine hairlines in it. Observe that the doc file (made with Word 2003) looks almost exactly like the tiff file, but the docx file does not--the hairlines are missing, among other things.

Has anyone else experienced this, or possibly have an explanation?

This problem (if it is real) is so significant that it will severely impact my willingness to convert to 2010.

(OK I'm clearly not in control of the attachment process. I have now managed to attach the .doc and .docx files. The system apparently doesn't allow uploading attached tiff files. But I think you can understand my problem without that...)

Daryl
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by DarylB; 2011-06-03 at 18:25. Reason: Added attachments

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    No files attached - please re-try.

Gary

Super Moderator
    Thanks