Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Chrome died in Win 7

    I leave the computer up 24/7 with the browser running. I have been using Chrome for a couple of years.

    I found Chrome not running yesterday and tried to restart it. I got a few seconds of the busy circle, then the busy circle disappeared.

    I removed and reinstalled Chrome and it still won't start. It runs fine on the laptop running Vista.

    Any ideas/suggestions?

    Thanks...jn
    Jim Neely
    www.jneely.net

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    This may seem a foolish suggestion but did you attempt to reboot the PC?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    793
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
    Have you checked Task Manager to see if the chrome.exe processes are still running? If they are, kill all of them first and then try starting it again.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, I rebooted. I left that out of the original message. Thanks.
    Last edited by Jim Neely; 2011-06-03 at 20:43.
    Jim Neely
    www.jneely.net

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cafed00d View Post
    Have you checked Task Manager to see if the chrome.exe processes are still running? If they are, kill all of them first and then try starting it again.
    I found several instances of Chrome *32, killed them and tried again. After trying to start I found a single chrome *32 instance and no browser running.

    Thanks.
    Jim Neely
    www.jneely.net

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Can you use a recent System Restore?
    Do you have a recent image backup/clone?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    Can you use a recent System Restore?
    Do you have a recent image backup/clone?
    The image backup isn't new enough and deleting and downloading has whacked what I had.

    Thanks for the suggestion.
    Jim Neely
    www.jneely.net

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Possibly something related to Google or Chrome (ie. Google Desktop, Google Toolbar Notifier, etc.) is auto starting?

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dripping Springs, TX
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tfspry View Post
    Possibly something related to Google or Chrome (ie. Google Desktop, Google Toolbar Notifier, etc.) is auto starting?
    I removed Google Desktop and Chrome, again, rebooted, reinstalled Chrome. I see am instance in Task manager, but Chrome doesn't come up.

    Thanks for the idea.

    jn
    Jim Neely
    www.jneely.net

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    If you have other users setup on that computer, does Chrome work under a different user?

    It seems that maybe Chrome is not getting totally removed during uninstallation? Try uninstalling, reboot without Chrome installed. Do you see any processes related to Chrome? If none, then try a new install of most recent Chrome version from the Chrome website.

  11. #11
    New Lounger mkurios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Leiden, Netherlands
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Possibly checking the (application) event logs might give you an insight into whats happening if you're not getting any errors (so annoying). The information contained therein usually needs an expert to be interpreted though.

    Another avenue that might be to install chrome through the google pack. Though I do advise deinstalling chrome before trying that. This does 'standard' install a lot of other google programs with it, like the desktop, but it's easy to customize. If your really desperate, trying ChromePlus might even be an option as it seems to install in a different place in the system.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    I wonder if the issue is with your Chrome profile as opposed to Chrome itself. If something in the profile has become corrupted, it could be preventing Chrome from running as it should.

    You could try using Google Chrome Backup to do a backup of your profile on your Vista system and then do a restore on your Win7 system.

    However, it might be better if you can find a way to wipe your existing profile on the Win7 system first just so you can verify that Chrome will run properly with a new profile before you introduce a new variable by restoring your profile from the backup made in your Vista system.

    I would do a search on Chrome profile and see if you can find info on how to work with and/or create a new profile for Chrome.

  13. #13
    Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    I just came across this: http://www.google.com/support/forum/...b4aafa85&hl=en

    The Web Data referred to that the link should be located at C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Us er Data\Default in Win7 systems.

  14. #14
    Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    I just found this, http://www.google.com/support/chrome...?answer=142059, for how to create a new profile for Chrome.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just a thought... maybe between the uninstall of Chrome, reboot and run a registry scan/repair, reboot and try the Chrome install again. You might want to reboot after the install to set the new registry settings straight .....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •