Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Old windows games won't run on Windows 7

    I love the old games of Freespace and Minesweeper, the ones that came out (probably?) with Win98. With Vista came new "sytlized-up" versions that I don't like--they are too fancy, harder to read, are missing some handy play features. So, I blindly tried copying the old .exe files onto the Vista computer, did the same with cards.dll, and was pleased to see that they ran just fine. I did the same with an XP computer. This was great!

    Now I have a new computer, 64-bit, running Windows 7 (64-bit), and I find that these applications will not run. In fact NONE of my old favorite (MS) games will run. I get an error saying that the files are incompatible with the current OS.

    I'm guessing this means I can't run the 32-bit applications on the 64-bit computer, but why should this matter? Can anyone suggest if there's a way to fix this, or should I just give it up?

    Daryl

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    St Johnsbury, VT
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DarylB View Post
    I love the old games of Freespace and Minesweeper, the ones that came out (probably?) with Win98. With Vista came new "sytlized-up" versions that I don't like--they are too fancy, harder to read, are missing some handy play features. So, I blindly tried copying the old .exe files onto the Vista computer, did the same with cards.dll, and was pleased to see that they ran just fine. I did the same with an XP computer. This was great!

    Now I have a new computer, 64-bit, running Windows 7 (64-bit), and I find that these applications will not run. In fact NONE of my old favorite (MS) games will run. I get an error saying that the files are incompatible with the current OS.

    I'm guessing this means I can't run the 32-bit applications on the 64-bit computer, but why should this matter? Can anyone suggest if there's a way to fix this, or should I just give it up?

    Daryl
    Are you using W7 professional which gives you WXP compatibility? marty

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Try this ....
    How do I get minesweeper to my new windows 7?

    Looks like you can get Minesweeper and others.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If the old games came with Win98 they are just as likely to be a 16-bit game as they are to be a 32-bit game. 16-bit programs will not run on a 64-bit Windows. If they are indeed 32-bit you could try running them in compatability mode.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Actually 32 bit apps do work on 64 bit windows. I suspect your games are actually 16 bit games as anything designed for Win 98 is most likely 16 Bit.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everybody for your quick responses. I had accidentally been using a mix of versions of these games on various computers. I didn't even know that some were 16 bit and some were 32 bit. I can now make sure there is a 32-bit version on my 64-bit computers.

    I am back up and running! Productivity!

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Glad you got it resolved. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •