5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

CCleaner Registry Cleaner: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium

I'm fairly new to CCleaner, having been introduced to it here in the Lounge. In looking into more of its features, I found Registry Cleaner. It came up with dozens of issues, way too many for a screenshot. Things like Missing Shared DLLs, Unused File Extensions, invalid or empty file classes, Active X/COM Issues, Installer Reference Issues, invalid Firewall rules, obsolete software (Norton is in there and I figure I can get rid of it since I didn't buy it after the free trial) and missing MUI references. Of course, I don't know what most of these are.

Can I let CCleaner fix them all? Some? None?

As always, I'll follow suggestions from this Lounge!

Thanks,

Linda

2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

+ Get this BONUS — free!

Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

Thanks
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2011-06-04 at 15:21.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks. I did read it, but couldn't access your attachment to see how you'd set up your CCleaner. Is there a trick I'm missing?

Linda

P.S. Just now working my way through the link you provided in that thread. Lots of great information. Still nervous about the registry from what I've read (and heard over and over in this Lounge!), but surely I shouldn't leave all those issues CCleaner found! Any suggestions on this one?
    Last edited by IreneLinda; 2011-06-04 at 15:47. Reason: Added PS with more information.

Lounge VIP
    Thanks