Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Blue Screen when Using Windows Backup

    Hi all

    My self-made PC is causing me headaches. It's my first self-made PC and I'm starting to regret it.

    the specs are:
    Intel i7 950
    12 GB RAM 2000 MHz (Corsair)
    Boot Drive: 128GB Crucial SSD (connected with SATA III)
    2nd Drive: 2TB Western Digital EARX (connected with SATA III)
    Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64

    Problem 1:
    I get Bluescreens of Death sometimes. The error message states Driver_Power_State_Failure. On the 3 or 4 occasions the appeared I had Windows Backup running, to my 2nd HD. I used to backup to my NAS but I could not watch movies during the backup so I bought the 2nd drive.

    Problem 2:
    And sometimes the system won't boot. When I start it I get a message like "No bootable media found". I now and then have to correct the settings (boot and HD order) in the BIOS, the computer forgets them. They go back to the default setting, I suspect. Why should anything like this happen? The PC is 3 months old, and it worked fine until I built in 2nd HD.

    Got any ideas on how to solve this?
    It's almost clear that my 2nd HD is somehow to blame. But I cannot figure it out. I do not have much experience with this sort of thing.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ttp View Post

    My self-made PC is causing me headaches. It's my first self-made PC and I'm starting to regret it.

    Got any ideas on how to solve this?
    ttp,
    Hello... Sounds like you have built quite a "rig" ...not to dis-pare I'm sure that you will get this all sorted out.. First (the simple stuff) Have you checked you BIOS CMOS battery? make sure its up to "snuff" You can get a free program (CPUID) to monitor your "temps" and "Voltages" http://download.cnet.com/HWMonitor/3...-10793486.html

    To make sure that there is not something wrong Backup wise... another free program ( that "Kicks the Pants off" the Windows flavor) Macrium Reflect http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp I and many others on this forum have used this with good results... Anyway this is a start Regards Fred

    Also... run "memtest" to check your "RAM" http://www.memtest86.com/download.html
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-06-04 at 16:07.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    ttp,
    Hello... Sounds like you have built quite a "rig" ...

    First (the simple stuff) Have you checked you BIOS CMOS battery? make sure its up to "snuff"
    Well, yeah. If you're going to do something, then do it. I bought the parts in installments so I could afford the thing. I love it!

    Thanks for the reassuring words. I have run the hardware analytics program that you recommended. From what I see, there is nothing wrong.

    Anyway, now that you mention the CMOS battery: I remember that I had to take it out while I assembled the computer because I had some problems with getting the mainboard to run. I think I produced a short that may have affected the battery.

    I will exchange the battery and see how it goes.

    I have used Windows backup for quite some time and never have experienced any problems with it. I have another backup program that I will use for testing. If it doesn't work, I'll come back to your suggestion.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    It's unlikely a short on the CMOS battery would drain the device: the internal resistance of the cell will prevent a high current drain. Even if unlikely, it's a 30-second job so give it a go - it won't hurt and will rule out a variable.

    So, thinking about your two problems: they may in fact be a single problem - the SSD.

    If the SSD is not recognised in the BIOS, then the boot failure will occur. If the SSD driver fails during operation due to the BIOS struggling to see the SSD you may get the BSOD.

    Therefore, something to check in the BIOS: is the SATA set to AHCI? Some SSD's don't play well with AHCI, so try switch to IDE mode. Moving from AHCI will make no practical difference in the performance of the SSD that I'm aware of, so worth a shot.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hmm. I think I may have changed the settings for the SSD to AHCI on one occasion, maybe even after installing the 2nd HD. I thought that IDE was wrong because it is a SATA drive.

    It must have been a while ago. I'll switch back to IDE and see what happens.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    This might be a long shot as well, but you do not mention the size of your PS. Your rig will pull a lot of "juice". Low PS voltages can cause all kinds of intermittent problems. I know Fred uses, I believe, a 750 watt PS in his home built PC and seems to have good luck with it. You might want to check this possibility. As I said a long shot, but who knows????
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Ted,

    An insufficient power supply is highly unlikely because I have a capacity of 850 W. My own measurements indicate that I use 150 W of it on average.

    Everybody,

    I have managed to get a new BSOD which says:
    driver_irql_not_less_or_equal

    However, this was before I set my BIOS settings to IDE.

    Today, the computer has been running almost all the time and I haven't noticed any difficulties yet. Yesterday evening I also made a backup to my NAS using Windows backup and there was no error message. I ran a backup to my second hard drive using a different backup software (Easeus). It did a complete backup very smoothly.

    I haven't had the chance to replace the CMOS battery yet.

    Some further online searching has revealed that the second BSOD message relates to driver errors. This is really hard to believe because all the components of my computer are no less than six months old and I have installed everything that came along with the equipment.

    In case I get another BSOD, I think I will have to start doing some research on how to configure the BIOS in order to avoid the kind of problems that I have.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    If you copy the minidumps to your Desktop, zip and attach them, I'll check them over for driver age/compatibility, etc.

    Have you checked for firmware updates for both the SSD and HDD, also for a BIOS update?

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ttp View Post
    Hi Ted,

    An insufficient power supply is highly unlikely because I have a capacity of 850 W. My own measurements indicate that I use 150 W of it on average.
    Like I said it was a long sgot but this is one area that is often short changed by self builders. This advice may help the next novice self builder.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,516
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    The driver_irql_not_less_or_equal BSOD is often the video driver. But you need to examine the dump files to see where the error occurred.

    Joe

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay, it's getting better:
    Now the SSD was not recognized at all while booting. Message: "No Hard Disk detected". The 2nd HD was detected, however.
    I did not even find the SSD in the BIOS.

    I've now changed the setting in the BIOS - Advanced Menu under Marvell Storage Controller to IDE mode (from AHCI mode). Now I could boot. Phew.

    Quote Originally Posted by satrow
    Have you checked for firmware updates for both the SSD and HDD, also for a BIOS update?
    I have not checked for firmware or BIOS updates. Will do so if all else fails.

    Quote Originally Posted by satrow
    If you copy the minidumps to your Desktop, zip and attach them, I'll check them over for driver age/compatibility, etc.
    As for the minidumps, attached are my dump files (all 4 from the last few days). Thank you for your generous offer.
    I tried to analyze the files myself but had trouble installing and using the debugging tool.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted
    Like I said it was a long sgot but this is one area that is often short changed by self builders. This advice may help the next novice self builde
    Ted, you were right to ask. I did not include that info. I forgot to say thanks. Thanks!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    The most recent dump blames the Marvell MV91xx AHCI/RAID driver, I ran just the latest of the 3 0x3 dumps and that came up as implicating the Marvell driver too:
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 9F, {3, fffffa800a400050, fffff80000ba2748, fffffa8011f4cb40}
    
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for mv91xx.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for mv91xx.sys
    Probably caused by : mv91xx.sys
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    
    0: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE (9f)
    A driver is causing an inconsistent power state.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 0000000000000003, A device object has been blocking an Irp for too long a time
    Arg2: fffffa800a400050, Physical Device Object of the stack
    Arg3: fffff80000ba2748, Functional Device Object of the stack
    Arg4: fffffa8011f4cb40, The blocked IRP
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    DRVPOWERSTATE_SUBCODE:  3
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  mv91xx.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4c2bf582
    
    MODULE_NAME: mv91xx
    
    FAULTING_MODULE: fffff88001138000 mv91xx
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x9F
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  robotaskbarico
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  2
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff800`00ba26f8 fffff800`032f09c2 : 00000000`0000009f 00000000`00000003 fffffa80`0a400050 fffff800`00ba2748 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff800`00ba2700 fffff800`0328f652 : fffff800`00ba2830 fffff800`00ba2830 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x34a90
    fffff800`00ba27a0 fffff800`0328f4f6 : fffffa80`0e884168 fffffa80`0e884168 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiProcessTimerDpcTable+0x66
    fffff800`00ba2810 fffff800`0328f3de : 0000000f`7637f0bb fffff800`00ba2e88 00000000`00067ed8 fffff800`033fad88 : nt!KiProcessExpiredTimerList+0xc6
    fffff800`00ba2e60 fffff800`0328f1c7 : fffff800`033f6ec5 fffffa80`00067ed8 fffffa80`0c1dad40 00000000`000000d8 : nt!KiTimerExpiration+0x1be
    fffff800`00ba2f00 fffff800`03286765 : 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`0ed93060 00000000`00000000 fffff880`0444adb0 : nt!KiRetireDpcList+0x277
    fffff800`00ba2fb0 fffff800`0328657c : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KyRetireDpcList+0x5
    fffff880`0ac59be0 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiDispatchInterruptContinue
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x9F_3_disk_IMAGE_mv91xx.sys
    
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x9F_3_disk_IMAGE_mv91xx.sys
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

  13. #13
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Good diagnostic from satrow. Windbg comes to to the rescue.

    AHCI allows access to hot swap (unlikely to be important in this case) and to Native Command Queuing (NCQ), which can significantly improve throughput when the host CPU is busy. However, under those circumstances it is unlikely that a significant improvement in the speed of the machine will be noticed (because the CPU is bottlenecked).

    If NCQ is not so important on an SSD, then you are safe to permanently revert to IDE from AHCI mode, otherwise, you could see if there is a newer Marvell AHCI driver for specifically SSD disks.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks guys. I'll switch back to IDE then, even though it takes longer to boot.
    Hopefully that will resolve the issue.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello, I'm back again.

    During the whole week everything went smoothly.

    But I've just had another BSOD, right after entering my system password. This time the message was something like "lvuvc64".
    Attached is the dump file.

    061011-33243-01.zip

    What do you suggest? Should I go ahead with the firmware updates or did I miss something about those IDE/AHCI settings?

    Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •