Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question FF 3.6 will not display PDF docs on a website

    It's been bugging me for a while and it's only because I have a work-around I've not asked before.

    The problem: When I open a PDF file clicking on a website link, all I get is "Done" in the bottom LH corner and a blank screen.
    It only happens in FF. IE and Chrome are happy.

    The workaround is to click on the IE Tab icon and bingo! it opens up in IE.

    Before somebody suggests FF4, thank you, but I've not gone to FF4 yet as I'd lose some important add-ons.

    Any ideas? Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Attachment 28273
    When you upgrade FF, you don't lose your addons or anything else unless their not compatible.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    What program do you have installed to read PDFs? Is the Firefox add-on installed and up to date? You could try uninstalling your PDF viewer and reinstalling it.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    In FF select Tools > Options > Applications.
    You should see "Adobe Acrobat Document" at the top and you can choose what app to use to open the file.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Before updating, I recommend backing up your Firefox settings in case something goes wrong. See Backing up your information. (You can copy your entire Firefox profile folder somewhere outside of the Mozilla folder.)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •