Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Eraser

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Eraser

    Hi,

    I have been reading about the free disk-wiping program, Eraser. Has anyone used Eraser and is it a really good program for wiping the free space on the hard drive?

    Thank you.

    Moon

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,240
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Moon,

    I've been using eraser for years. Works just fine.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    RetiredGeek,

    Thanks for your response. I will download Eraser and begin using it. Have a very Good one....

    Moon

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Moon, Good morning.

    If you have CCleaner you already have a Drive Wipe app. Go to Tools, Drive Wiper.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Ted,

    I did try the Drive Wiper application in CCleaner. I also downloaded Eraser and tried to wipe my free space with that program. However, I keep on getting the message that the program/application is not queued. I don't know what that means and I cannot get the program to run. Perhaps RetiredGeek can give me some guidance on that.

    Have a good one....

    Moon

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,240
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Moon,

    See the attached graphic. What you need to do is Right-Click the task and click Run Now or just select the task and press Ctrl+Alt+R. Of course, this is assuming you have set the task to run on command and not scheduled it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    RetiredGeek,

    I followed your instructions but when I viewed the logs, I got the message saying that the program did not have the required permission to.... "run the wipe" I presume. How do I establish permission? Also, when I open the program it opens the page you showed. I see no way to schedule or to set the task to run on command. Is this because downloaded the "typical" version rather than the full version?

    Moon

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,240
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Moon,

    Use a right-click to open the program and select Run as Administrator.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    RettiredGeek,

    I used a right-click to open the program and then I selected run as administrtor. Same problem. So I removed Eraser from my computer. I will reinstall it after I get my email working ok. I am using IE 9 and I cannot make attachments. I think I will go back to IE 8 and see if that will make a difference. How do I remove IE 9?

    Thank you.

    Moon

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,240
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 796 Times in 729 Posts
    Moon,

    I'm confused? Your email is not controlled by IE. What are you using as your email client? Outlook, Windows Live Mail, Gmail?
    I can offer assistance with Outlook but someone else will have to chime in for the web based clients.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    RetiredGeek,

    Sorry to have confused you. All of a sudden I have not been able to send emails and attachments from my Yahoo account using my desktop. Eraser was stored on my desktop. I thought that there was a possibility that whatever was causing my email problems was also causing my problem with Eraser.
    Last edited by moon1130; 2011-06-17 at 17:18. Reason: typos

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    RetiredGeek,

    I got it working! I removed IE 9 and reinstalled IE 8. Now my Yahoo mail account is working fine. Also, I reinstalled Eraser. It, too, is running excellently. In fact, it is cleaning my C: drive free space as I type this. I was told that IE 9 is still in Beta testing and has bugs. On my laptop I am using IE 9 and have had no problems, but on my desktop each time I installed it, I started to have problems after a month or two. I will wait until it is out of Beta before reinstalling it.

    Thanks for you help.

    Moon

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    IE9 is not in beta. It has been released for a couple of months now. Are you using the 32 Bit version or the 64 Bit version (If you have a 64 Bit OS and installed the 64 Bit version, both 32 Bit and 64 Bit versions are automatically installed) Start, All Programs, you should see both versions if you installed the 64 Bit version.

    There have been reported problems and incompatibilities with the 64 Bit version, hence many of us are sticking with the 32 Bit version for now.

    I have never heard of IE9 causing problems with a web based mail server, but anything is possible I suppose. I have heard of many using IE9 with Hotmail and Gmail. Have no first hand knowledge of Yahoo mail.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Each new version of IE jettison support for some old, non-standard, proprietary web coding features from the IE3/IE4 days. Even in compatibility mode, some sites do not run as designed. Web developers will catch up eventually, but complex apps like webmail may take more time. Now you know what it's like to use non-Microsoft browsers!

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    452
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Ted,

    I am running the 64 Bit version of Windows 7 Professional. I do not know what the problem was, but as soon as I uninstalled IE 9 and reinstalled IE 8, all problems disappeared. My E-mail is working fine; Eraser is working fine. Now with my laptop, also 64 Bit, I am running IE 9 without problems. It's kind of nuts, but I am satisfied now that everything is running smoothly.

    Have a good one....

    Moon

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •