Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    System Reserved Partition.

    Hi Loungers,
    As in my image, Laptop has it but Desktop does'nt.

    Attachment 28311

    The laptop is lower spec. than my desktop yet starts faster.
    Would you recommend doing it to the desktop.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Roderunner,

    It is my understanding that the 100MB System Reserved Partition is created when Windows 7 is installed on a clean disk with no existing partitions. It serves two functions. First, it contains the Boot Manager code and the Boot Configuration Database. Second, it reserves disk space for the startup files required by BitLocker Drive Encryption so you can easily encrypt your system disk using BitLocker if you have, or upgrade to Win7 Pro or Ultimate (Anytime Upgrade). Without this System Reserved Partition, encrypting your system disk would require some repartitioning of your disk.

    So, the only way to place the System Reserved Partition on your Desktop PC would involve installing Windows 7 again on a disk with no existing partitions. I would not want to do it, and I doubt it would provide any real performance gain.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Deadeye81,
    So, the only way to place the System Reserved Partition on your Desktop PC would involve installing Windows 7 again on a disk with no existing partitions. I would not want to do it, and I doubt it would provide any real performance gain.
    I was aware of these facts, I'm running Win7 H Prem 32bit on both pc's and my lower 'Spec' Laptop boots alot faster.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you checked what's starting with Windows. Use What's In Startup to have a look. You may have more manufacturer branded stuff starting with the desktop. Have you changed the splash screen time out. msconfig.exe in search:

    msconfig.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    What sort of times do these machines boot to the Windows Desktop in? For a rough guide, I use how fast I can open TaskMan and read the uptime from the Performance tab.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Ted,
    Here's my images.

    Attachment 28314
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    What sort of times do these machines boot to the Windows Desktop in? For a rough guide, I use how fast I can open TaskMan and read the uptime from the Performance tab.
    Here's mine. Seems I leaped before I looked.

    Attachment 28315
    The image for Ted was my desktop.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Your screenshot shows one unidentified system. Please supply the information from both systems and identify which is which.

    Joe

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    So that's a boot time of 56 and 54 seconds? Are these PC's frequently started/restarted and is speed of boot a high priority?

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Your screenshot shows one unidentified system. Please supply the information from both systems and identify which is which.

    Joe
    Please be more specific.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Your original screenshot that you subsequently posted was from the desktop.

    Joe

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    My Laptop's image.

    Attachment 28316
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    So that's a boot time of 56 and 54 seconds? Are these PC's frequently started/restarted and is speed of boot a high priority?
    Desktop is 'on' 24/7 with occasional reboot. Laptop 'on' only when in use. 'Boot Speed' shows how they are running.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  14. #14
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Desktop is 'on' 24/7 with occasional reboot. Laptop 'on' only when in use. 'Boot Speed' shows how they are running.
    Ok, that was about the response I expected. The best method for speeding boot times with Vista and W7 I've found is this one, no additional software required.

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi satrow, very very interesting, thanks.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •