New Lounger
    Thanks

changing folders/files on Win7 back up

Sorry if this has been asked before, I did a search and it came up blank....

I am VERY new to Win7 and am NOT a techie. I have set Win7 Back-up and Restore up to do a back-up, only on C drive as well as a create a system image (if that is the correct term). All that is on C drive at this point is system stuff and program files. This all I want it to back up.

I will be adding data files on C drive that I will not want backed up through Win 7 Back-up and restore. (I do my own backing up onto external drives for all my data, image and music files - yes I know that might not be the best, but that is what I do for now)

As I designated all of C drive for now, once I get the other data on it I will want to ensure it is not backing up the new data files/folders on C

There seems to be no way to change the original designation of the files/folders I have set up foir the back-up. Is there a way to change that in the future ?

Thank you

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I don't know what method you're using to backup you're files but using Replicator http://www.karenware.com/powertools/ptreplicator.asp may help you there. It's a simple, small application that's pretty much straight forward.
    I know you stated that you're not a techie but in regards to not backing up certain files, I would partition your hard drive and put all your docs and such on the new partition.
    To do this first download and install an imaging program such as Macrium Reflect
    http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp