Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet connection stops working

    Let me say straight away I've ran full system scans wit Malwarebytes and MS Essentials

    Here's what I can do:

    1. Can ping 127.0.01 and my router 192.168.X.XXX and all websites by their IP address and domain name.

    2. Can use all software aboard.

    Here's what I cannot do:

    1. Cannot RDP to my server nor access it through the browser at hpserver

    2. Cannot access my 2Wire router 192.168.X.XXX via the browser.

    3. Have tried to connect to internet using IE 9, Chrome, and Firefox. Same result. No access.


    Lastly, rebooting seems to be the only fix until it happens again. Each incident produces the same results as noted above.


    ----


    Any ideas on what may be causing this?

  2. #2
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Could be many things causing it.

    Let me run through my thought process:

    It's not hardware related since you can ping local and internet addresses. Neither is it DNS since you can do the same using domain names. It's not a malware attack as I assume that having scanned you see no issues.

    The symptoms appear to be browser related - no browser has http:// access internally or externally. However, after a re-boot the problem goes away for an unspecified time. Therefore something is changing in the system configuration.

    A few questions then:

    Can you ftp (as opposed to http) from the browser?
    Are the internet zone settings configured correctly?,....leading to:
    Do you have 3rd party Firewall software?

    Having thought about those, what is happening in the system event logs before and after the problem occurs?

    I might be easy to run a system restore, but you may not know when the problem started, nor have a way of knowing that it has been fixed.

    The other option is to run a clean boot, followed by selective enabling of boot time services until you target the problem.

    Oh, one final thought, based on an inference from your notes. You mention you can't access your server by RDP or web console. Are you Domain Joined? If yes, can you attach and configure an independent Internet access method (3G mobile broadband for example). If you can, does the same issue present itself? - just wondering if the server may be having a problem.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,847
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 253 Times in 238 Posts
    You can test http sites in Telnet to prove access.
    Start > Run > cmd
    Type: telnet www.abc.com 80
    Type some characters and press Enter a few times and you should see some movement. This confirms you have a connection on port 80 (http).

    cheers, Paul
    Last edited by Paul T; 2011-06-23 at 14:49.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Mora, Minnesota
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Try going to the manufacturers website of the computer you are using. then download the latest drivers for your network card. I have had the same connection problem and this solved it for me.


    Quote Originally Posted by jshollis View Post
    Let me say straight away I've ran full system scans wit Malwarebytes and MS Essentials

    Here's what I can do:

    1. Can ping 127.0.01 and my router 192.168.X.XXX and all websites by their IP address and domain name.

    2. Can use all software aboard.

    Here's what I cannot do:

    1. Cannot RDP to my server nor access it through the browser at hpserver

    2. Cannot access my 2Wire router 192.168.X.XXX via the browser.

    3. Have tried to connect to internet using IE 9, Chrome, and Firefox. Same result. No access.


    Lastly, rebooting seems to be the only fix until it happens again. Each incident produces the same results as noted above.


    ----


    Any ideas on what may be causing this?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,410
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Definitively not a solution, but maybe an effects mitigator - have you tried to disable and enable your network adapter, when that happens?

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Oliver Springs, TN
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Are you running wireless? If you are then see if the problem happens when you use a wireless phone. Older phones in the 2.4Ghz region will step on a lot of wireless connections. You may want to consider a router that runs in the 5Ghz region or get phones in that region, but not both.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rayt435 View Post
    Are you running wireless? If you are then see if the problem happens when you use a wireless phone. Older phones in the 2.4Ghz region will step on a lot of wireless connections. You may want to consider a router that runs in the 5Ghz region or get phones in that region, but not both.
    Almost exactly what I was thinking. My uWave oven does the same thing if my laptop is too close to the kitchen.

  8. #8
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    rayt435
    Are you running wireless? If you are then see if the problem happens when you use a wireless phone. Older phones in the 2.4Ghz region will step on a lot of wireless connections. You may want to consider a router that runs in the 5Ghz region or get phones in that region, but not both
    Almost exactly what I was thinking. My uWave oven does the same thing if my laptop is too close to the kitchen.
    The OP can ping internal and external locations by IP address, so an active network connection is established and is not being blocked by interference.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    connecticut usa
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hey bud, i notice you're using a 2wire modem. i have the same problem, sometimes multiple times a day!! the only cure i've found is to hard-reboot the modem itself. if you have att as a provider, the problem may be lieing with them. i called them a week or so back about it, they said that "temporary internet outtages" can occur in areas where they are presently installing their "uverse" systems. apparently they have to shut down the grid to work on it!! well done...apparently when they do, it screws up everyone's dsl connection in the area...but intermittently, as some signal appears to backfeed from other points. it's maddening, to say the least. if you have att, you may want to call them and see if that's the root of your issue before pulling out your hair like i have. best, jimi
    what, me worry?

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Yazoo City, MS USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had the same problem, and the solution was so simple I'm almost embarrassed to fess up. I was losing my internet connection 1-2 times a day. Tried everything to correct, but problem persisted. In desperation, I bought a new router, and when connecting it up, noticed that the ethernet plug was not securely connected into the back of the modem. Pushed it firmly in place, and have only lost the connection once in 6 months! Don't know if this is your problem, but no one else has mentioned it.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Eagan MN USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I was having the same problem on my own computer using a D-Link router with Vista. Here is a simple fix that worked for me: under control panel> Network Sharing Center> manage wireless Networks> Right click, Properties for your router. Under the "Connection Tab" make sure the "Connect automatically when this network is in range" is checked. I have corrected many computers with this frustrating complaint and it seems to work across the board.

  12. #12
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    A successful ping without an ethernet or wireless network connection would be something to record for posterity.

    Seriously gentlemen, the OP has recorded a specific set of symptoms, which rule out many issues: When browsing sporadically drops out, he can still ping internal and external IP's and domains.

    If he can ping, he has a network connection; which means his router is up and the dsl is active. Sporadic browsing dropouts means a connection on Port 80 is unreliable. This must be internal (ie on his machine) because he is neither able to browse the router web interface on 192.168.x.xxx, nor to external websites when the dropout occurs - yet he can ping them.

    It would be useful to see the result of the test that Paul T suggested.
    Last edited by Tinto Tech; 2011-06-23 at 18:35. Reason: spelling correction

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 32 Times in 25 Posts
    I disagree with Mr. Tin, and re his comment on helps from others: rather nasty.

    Most members perusing here is to learn and/or find solutions of common problems. Mostly it is knowledge base and FAQ-like. They also hope a few experts (and people with vast experience) could help.

    Maybe some suggested solutions do not meet the strict standards of CSI (Crime Scene Investigation). However, maybe an idea ring a bell for someone reading the blogs, solving his/her problem.

    Here, it is kind of a social network. It is even worse than the messy democracy. It has many 'unprofessional' 'solutions'. They are just the daily experience members reporting.

    I hope the few experts here show patience.

    Having said that, Mr. Tin is correct on the problem. It is the kind for pros, real pros. I would trace route to determine the root cause, rather than throwing try-n-see solutions to it.

  14. #14
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaisson View Post
    I disagree with Mr. Tin, and re his comment on helps from others: rather nasty.
    That was not the intention. If you take it that way, you have my apologies.

    Quote Originally Posted by scaisson View Post
    Having said that, Mr. Tin is correct on the problem. It is the kind for pros, real pros. I would trace route to determine the root cause, rather than throwing try-n-see solutions to it.
    Exactly. Knowledge bases are excellent as long as the information is relevant, accurate and in context. Had the original question not included specific detail, I would have no problem with the try-n-see solutions (I might even have thrown in one or two of my own). However, the original question was quite specific and contained diagnostic data. IMHO, it warrants specific diagnostic replies, not try-this or try-that answers which are in conflict with the data supplied.

    I will contribute no further to the thread for risk fanning an unnecessary flames.

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think it may be possible that problems like this may have started occurring this week because a lot of the main testing for IPV6 started (or was scheduled to start anyway) with some sites and ISPs as of last week. I haven't had any problems myself, but don't know if something like this might cause people problems.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •