Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IrfanView protected images

    I usually use Irfanview and I need to protect a tiff image so that it can't be edited or changed. But I can't find a way that's native to XP2 and I don't want to convert it to pdf, it has to be a tiff.

    The stupid Irfanview forum won't let me join because it actively blocks spammers. So what? Why does it think I am a spammer?

    Anyway, any advice on how to protect tiff files?


    Cheers

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,581
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge!!

    1.) You might be blocked because of the ISP you use. Some ISPs have a reputation for hosting spammers or the ISP could've gotten on a block list. You should contact your ISP about this.

    2.) From what I can find out there is nothing in the TIFF specification for managing the update rights. The only thing I've seen is change it to a non-changable file format such as PDF or ZIP. If you ZIP it than you can password protect the ZIP file.

    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, I'm at work with a huge network and big network admin department, firewalls and all sorts, so we shouldn't be mistaken for spammers. But the e-mail I used was my personal Yahoo address. Could it be that?

    What's even more stupid is that they say to use the Contact Us link if I am not a spammer but there's no link anywhere!

    Anyway, shame about the tiffs. I have to make an image that can't be modified available on a web site but it has to be in tiff format to be usable at the other end.


    Cheers

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowblade View Post
    Well, I'm at work with a huge network and big network admin department,
    Have them come up with a way to "lock" your .tiff files.
    Maybe you could trade in one slightly used, but not very useful, IT person for a good software package?
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Strictly speaking there is no such thing as a non-modifiable image. You could add a digital signature to the image, but that would need specialized software to read and compare, and only tells you if the image has been changed.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Cheers, Paul.

    I'm sure I replied to RussB as well but it's disappeared.

    I've sent the problem to the IT department. I don't think it matters if it's lockable or not but the boss (who doesn't actually know much about this stuff) said it had to be.

    We'll see.

    Cheers

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Any idea why it has to be "locked"? Copy right protection or something similar? If so, its an issue that photographers both professional and amatuer have been wrestling with in the digital age. Not much you can do in that case.

    Quote Originally Posted by RussB View Post
    Have them come up with a way to "lock" your .tiff files.
    Maybe you could trade in one slightly used, but not very useful, IT person for a good software package?
    Hmm... I hope this is being said with "tongue in cheek". I've never heard of "locking" a .tiff or any other image format for that matter. By their nature they are editable files.
    Chuck

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Brown View Post
    Have them come up with a way to "lock" your .tiff files.
    Maybe you could trade in one slightly used, but not very useful, IT person for a good software package?

    Hmm... I hope this is being said with "tongue in cheek". I've never heard of "locking" a .tiff or any other image format for that matter. By their nature they are editable files.
    Yes it is. I cannot get my sense of humor to update, it is still running in DOS 2.1.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's just got to be uneditable.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowblade View Post
    It's just got to be uneditable.
    For any image, all someone needs to do is Print Screen then paste into MS Paint, and the image can be edited. Tell your boss.

    You can mess about with backgrounds so that any simple edits are obvious, but there's no absolute way of preventing edits.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, I already kind of did before my first post, but I thought I'd ask around in case anyone knew of a way to make them secure.

    I'll see what the IT bods say.


    Cheers

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RussB View Post
    Yes it is. I cannot get my sense of humor to update, it is still running in DOS 2.1.
    Sometimes I wish I was still using DOS. At least when there was a problem it was usually pretty straight forward.
    Chuck

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I'll see what the IT bods say
    If you are expecting a different answer you will be disappointed. ;-))

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •