Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts

    Intermittent freeze-ups Win7-64bit

    My PC is a Win7-64 bit system that has been freezing up intermittently. It is a freeze up that I cannot key out of. I must reset the PC. I cannot re-create the problem because I don't know when it's going to occur.

    Windows is kept up to date. I have AVAST, Super-Anti-Spyware and Anti-Malware Bytes installed. I scan regularly. The freezeup may occur at any time, but usually it is when I turn on the PC first thing in the morning and I'm doing email or reading the forums to which I regularly go. I did a clean Windows reinstall a couple of months ago and here were no issues. The reinstall went very well. I did not have this problem immediately after the clean reinstall.

    To attempt to diagnose the cause of the problem, I have checked Device Manager to see if there are any hardware issues and there are none. I have checked event viewer. The only events in there were the PC objecting to the reboots. I have checked the Reliability Monitor and the only events in there were the PC reboots.

    I have checked the Resource & Performance Monitor and the OS, Disk, Security Center, System Service, Hardware Device and Drivers all passed as OK.

    Windows told me my PC boots up more slowly then it should because I have PSI scan on boot up.

    I ran an sfc /verifyonly to check system integrity and the scan was just fine.

    I have the latest Lachesis mouse driver. I disabled the Nvidia automatic update service because some have found it to be problematic.

    When I have to reboot the computer, on reboot, the process stops for just a few seconds on my primary drive, but then continues on.

    Its not a devastating problem and my PC runs fine, but is so very annoying. I do not know where else to look to try to determine what the issue is. Can someone offer some suggestions? Thanks. Diane P.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Diane, Good morning.

    I would disable PSI from the boot sequence for a while to ensure this is not the cause. I use PSI as well, but only as an occ (perhaps once per week) scan for updates. I would also use What's In Startup to check on whether anything else is starting that may be causing the freeze. (scroll down a ways for the download link) On my second mug already.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    PeachesP (2011-06-20)

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Hi,

    Do you have the UAC active and PSI set to update programs automatically? If you do, I would suggest either to disable the UAC or to uncheck the PSI option to update programs automatically. I can confirm that there is something wrong either with PSI or with the UAC (and I haven seen it happen in Vista and 7), that will lead to an occasional lock up in Windows, or even to boots that can last forever.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    PeachesP (2011-06-20)

  6. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Other things to check:
    Run Windows Memory Diagnostic. (plug the term into the start orb search box)
    Run Chkdsk /r

    Jerry

  7. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PeachesP View Post
    I disabled the Nvidia automatic update service because some have found it to be problematic.

    Can someone offer some suggestions?
    Diane,
    Hello... Nvidia for me has always been a "pain" I have had "freeze up" problems as well along the way... This is what i have done ..and so far it has greatly minimized my problems..I think that it has to do with windows 7 \ 64 and my hardware (Several Hard Drives) ... but anyway...

    1. Reverted my Nvidia Driver software for my video card GT 240 back to the oldest version ... for me 191.07 see this link for yours Nvidia If you don't know how or not sure how to "revert" ...post back. Also you can try the "settings changes" first ,to see if they help.

    2.Bring up Nvidia control panel

    3. Then "Manage 3d Settings"> Global Tab> and under "Power Management Mode " set to "prefer Maximum Performance"

    4.Then click on the "Program Settings Tab">Power Management Mode > and set all that are shown in the "Select a program to customize" drop down to "Prefer maximum performance" See if this helps ? Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-06-19 at 12:55.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    PeachesP (2011-06-20)

  9. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I did a clean Windows reinstall a couple of months ago and here were no issues. The reinstall went very well. I did not have this problem immediately after the clean reinstall.
    This statement may suggest a 3rd party application as a potential cause to the instability.

    There may be a few things you could try as a means to troubleshoot this;
    1 Start from a clean install and only install 1 major program at a time, give the program and operating system time for a good run through, then install another & repeat.
    2 Start uninstalling programs one at a time untill the culprit is discovered. (uninstall one program, reboot and attempt to run machine as usual. allow sufficient time to observe any freeze-ups).

    Next step would be to troubleshoot hardware, like memory and power supply.

  10. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I hope Diane's PC has not failed all together! It's been many hours since her first post. Hoping one of these many suggestions solves her problemss.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Before going with anything more radical, I would really look at PSI and the PSI / UAC combination. My desktop used to lock up and be totally unresponsive because of it, until I noticed various consent.exe processes running when such situations occurred. Having removed PSI's ability to auto update apps, it never occurred again. Recently my wife's Vista laptop was taking a lot of time to boot. Again, after much effort, with reboots and such, got Task Manager to run and alas, there were the consent.exe processes. There I opted to disable the UAC (as my wife won't really update the laptop by herself). Problem solved.

    In conclusion, PSI can cause this and if it is causing it, the solution is very easily implemented. Of course, in this case, Ted's proposed solution (manually running PSI but then waiting for it to finish and shut it down), would also work.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    PeachesP (2011-06-20)

  13. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Hi Diane,

    The symptoms you describe are very similar to a problem I had a couple of years ago...

    Random freezing of Windows
    Slowdown on startup whilst detecting hard drives

    The slowdown on startup indicated to me (eventually) it was probably a hardware issue.

    To cut a long story short, I replaced the PSU and the problems disappeared.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Browni For This Useful Post:

    PeachesP (2011-06-20)

  15. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Diane, Good morning.

    I would disable PSI from the boot sequence for a while to ensure this is not the cause. I use PSI as well, but only as an occ (perhaps once per week) scan for updates. I would also use What's In Startup to check on whether anything else is starting that may be causing the freeze. (scroll down a ways for the download link) On my second mug already.
    Hi Ted,

    I will start trying to fix this problem by using PSI manually only. OP's also mentioned PSI as a source of issues as well. It's the only thing Windows objected to that I could find when running the diags.

    D.
    Last edited by PeachesP; 2011-06-20 at 08:15.

  16. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    Diane,


    1. Reverted my Nvidia Driver software for my video card GT 240 back to the oldest version ... for me 191.07 see this link for yours Nvidia If you don't know how or not sure how to "revert" ...post back. Also you can try the "settings changes" first ,to see if they help.

    2.Bring up Nvidia control panel

    3. Then "Manage 3d Settings"> Global Tab> and under "Power Management Mode " set to "prefer Maximum Performance"

    4.Then click on the "Program Settings Tab">Power Management Mode > and set all that are shown in the "Select a program to customize" drop down to "Prefer maximum performance" See if this helps ? Regards Fred

    JPFred: Thank you.

    I downloaded the newest WHQL drivers, I think 275.33 in an attempt to solve this problem, however I did a custom install and did not install the Nvidia 3D driver or controller in the process.

    I am not that good with configuring video cards, so excuse my question if it's dumb....would managing 3D settings be effective in my case with no 3D software installed?

    TIA. D

  17. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Before going with anything more radical, I would really look at PSI and the PSI / UAC combination. My desktop used to lock up and be totally unresponsive because of it, until I noticed various consent.exe processes running when such situations occurred. Having removed PSI's ability to auto update apps, it never occurred again.

    Thanks, Ruirib.

    I can't CTRL-ALT-Delete out of one of these lockups to see what's running. Can you tell me how to see if "consent.exe's" processes are running when I lock up? Thanks.


    D.

  18. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    Hi Diane,

    The symptoms you describe are very similar to a problem I had a couple of years ago...

    Random freezing of Windows
    Slowdown on startup whilst detecting hard drives

    Browni:

    I only get the slowdown on bootup after I do a reset because the PC has locked up.

    I am saving attempts to analyze hardware and memory issues for last because I am horrible with hardware and hate opening my tower to take out memory sticks to run memtest properly.

    I have a 1000W Thermaltake Tough Power PSU modular in this PC and if it failed...doing a rewire would be a nightmare that I don't want to think about.

  19. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PeachesP View Post
    I downloaded the newest WHQL drivers, I think 275.33 I did a custom install and did not install the Nvidia 3D driver or controller in the process.

    would managing 3D settings be effective in my case with no 3D software installed?
    Diane,
    Hello... I apologize for not being clear in my post..OK,
    Let's give it another try...

    1.If you have already installed the latest version (275.33) for you card , and didn't remove the previous version... Likely the "3D " old version is still there ..Go to "Control Panel"> Programs> Uninstall > and see whats listed for Nvidia...

    2."Right Click" on an empty portion of your screen and select "Nvidia control panel" and see if you have the 3D setting listed

    3. Keep in mind this is only one of the possible solutions , and it's an "Easy" one to try... as to go back all you have to do is click "Restore" in the Nvidia control panel .

    4.If the 3D settings are not there, then it is not possible to "Adjust" them without installing that portion of the package.

    5. My original suggestion was to "Revert" to the "oldest" driver... but hey since you've already installed this ...Might as well "give her a go", and see what happens ...Post back with any questions, as i and others will be happy to help you get over the "rough spots" Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  20. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    Diane,
    Hello... I apologize for not being clear in my post..OK,
    Let's give it another try...

    Hi JP Fred:

    Your post was clear; maybe my answer wasn't.

    When I started having this issue, I decided to get the latest WHQL certified driver which a few days ago was 275.33. I used Revo to remove all traces of the prior driver from my PC.

    In looking in CP, I have the Nvidia 275.33, Physx Driver and Nvidia Automatic update service only(that I've disabled). I have no 3D software installed.

    I went into Nvidia control panel for the setting you suggested and it's there, but I am going to hold off fooling with it for the moment while I wait to see the results of the "drumming down" I did to Secunia PSI this morning.

    So far, I haven't locked up, but I haven't done much other than email yet. Thanks again. D.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •