Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts

    A Very Silly Question Re. FF5

    Hi Loungers, I don't think its possible to disable as in hide the side scroll bar, unless you know different.
    Occassionally on opening FF, the scroll bar has vanished, usually by using a WSL link in my mail box. Opening it directly seems to work OK.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    2 Star Lounger cyberdiva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    As far as I know, you can control the appearance/disappearance of the Sidebar from View --> Sidebar. Or do you mean something else? I didn't even know what the sidebar was until I read your message, since I never see it in my copy of FF5.

  4. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi cyberdiva, look here.

    Attachment 28449
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,158
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    It looks like you can change it's location but not turn it off.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger cyberdiva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi cyberdiva, look here.
    Oops, sorry. I should have read your message more carefully.

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    It looks like you can change it's location but not turn it off.
    Hi RG,
    Sorry, I don't understand your link.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,158
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    RR,

    The article refers to one of the configuration options in FF. There is a link near the top of the article "edit your configuration" that explains the process. There are hundreds of items you can change by entering about:config in the address bar. Please note the warning when you do this!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  9. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    RG,
    I knew that about:config existed but have never used it. All I need to know is why the scroll bar is on occassions MIA. as in my post #1
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,158
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    RR,

    The only other thing I can think of, and you probably already know this, but if the page fits on the monitor in total the scroll bar will auto hide itself.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  11. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    RG, just clicked the mail link to reply to you. LTop was not in use for over 10 hrs & scollbar was ok.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  12. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Loungers, I don't think its possible to disable as in hide the side scroll bar, unless you know different.
    A web page author can disable scrolling (and thus prevent the appearance of a scrollbar) using a CSS rule (overflow-y:hidden). But I can't think of a good reason for that rule to appear in a Lounge page.

  13. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    A web page author can disable scrolling (and thus prevent the appearance of a scrollbar) using a CSS rule (overflow-y:hidden). But I can't think of a good reason for that rule to appear in a Lounge page.
    Scroll bar not always visible if clicking any forum link in email WLM 2010 when browser is closed. Otherwise opening FF from desktop is OK.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  14. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    I don't usually get notifications. I will have to sign up and see whether I get a different URL than normal.

  15. #14
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    I don't usually get notifications. I will have to sign up and see whether I get a different URL than normal.
    Its not just WSL Forum, I use 3 others and same occurs, plus its now started when opening browser from the desktop.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  16. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Is this a problem with the overall size of the window, i.e., part of the window off the right side of the screen? If not, perhaps it's something about the theme you're using. If you haven't already, you could test with the default Firefox theme.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •