Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Three browsers can't load a website

    Subject: browser problem
    Interesting problem: New Win 7 64bit Home build PC cannot connect to a particular web site (ripoffreport.com) --it just times out. On this computer all 3 major browsers (IE 8, FF 4 and Chrome) will not connect to this site. Otherwise all 3 browsers appear to work fine. Other PC's and Macs on the same network connect to ripoffreport.com without problem using any of the browsers.

    I have turned off firewall and antivirus, changed DNS settings, tried dynamic and fixed IP's, updated Flash and Java, updated windows, Entering through search engines, deleting cookies, checked the hosts file and other stuff.

    Any ideas?

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deltasierra View Post
    Subject: browser problem
    Interesting problem: New Win 7 64bit Home build PC cannot connect to a particular web site (ripoffreport.com) --it just times out. On this computer all 3 major browsers (IE 8, FF 4 and Chrome) will not connect to this site. Otherwise all 3 browsers appear to work fine. Other PC's and Macs on the same network connect to ripoffreport.com without problem using any of the browsers.

    I have turned off firewall and antivirus, changed DNS settings, tried dynamic and fixed IP's, updated Flash and Java, updated windows, Entering through search engines, deleting cookies, checked the hosts file and other stuff.

    Any ideas?
    Hi deltasierra,

    Attachment 28367

    Try running an elevated command by typing 'cmd' in start menu search box, right click, and run as administrator then type ipconfig /flushdns hit enter type exit hit enter to close.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    flush was successful, but that page WILL NOT LOAD (IE, FF, Chrome)!!!

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deltasierra View Post
    flush was successful, but that page WILL NOT LOAD (IE, FF, Chrome)!!!
    Try restarting FF with Add ons Disabled.

    Attachment 28368
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Done. Still won't load.

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    This thread seems to have a similar issue with inability to access a certain web site.....
    Problem with CNet.com Videos


    Maybe between the two threads - solutions will be found.
    It is curious!!!

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    What happens if you logon to Windows as a different user?

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tried guest account (Windows 7 Pro 64 bit). Only tried IE8. Still no luck.

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    In router settings - are there any Access Restrictions by IP address or MAC address?

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    D-Link router --- MAC filtering is disabled and access control is disabled.

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    just tried adding
    217.17.158.54 ripoffreport.com
    to hosts file. no luck

    So could it be that somehow the page is authored in a way that is conflicting with something on this pc? It happens across browsers and user accounts.

  13. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Do you have a recent image backup? If yes, have you tried it? If not, consider making a system image backup. There is quite a bit of info at this Forum....
    Lounge: Security & Backups


    Found these similar problems with solutions.....

    unable to access certain websites??

    [SOLVED] Cannot access certain websites

    This is the public DNS site mentioned......
    Google Public DNS

  14. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    tried it. flushed dns cache and still not working. i have been using opendns servers and verified that those servers were NOT active. All the other computers are using the same dns anyway.

    Do not have an image. This is a newly built pc which I should have imaged. In any case this is not a big practical deal as I can reach the site from nearby computers but the fact that just this pc cannot reach them using any of the new browsers is vexing. I can however reach the sites that were mentioned in the SOLVED forum

  15. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    From my previous link, have you tried the part of this bolded quote?

    "luckyj
    Registered User

    Join Date: May 2008
    Posts: 1
    OS: xp


    ""Re: unable to access certain websites??
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Cosmo Viking
    Hiya people!
    have been using firefox for ages but all of a sudden it won't let me access certain websites? can't access them either with IE7 so not sure it's a browser issue.

    for example, it won't let me go to www.bbc.co.uk, it just says "connecting ..." then says unable to load page. same with a few other sites.

    I have flushed the DNS and deleted cache, and checked the HOSTS file and everything seems in order. Have done full virus and spyware scans with nothing to report and my HijackThis log is clean too

    anyone got any ideas what else to try please?
    hello...I was able to resolve this issue with IE""

    Open Internet explorer and then go to tools...internet options..click on Advanced tab at the top...click "RESTORE DEFAULTS" button atthe botom....apply changes click ok..restaart IE fixed
    "

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    tried both the 32 bit and 64 bit versions (IE8). No change.

    BTW-In this version IE8 the button says "restore advanced settings"

    Also added Opera 11.11 to the list of browsers that are not connecting.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •